Cant install Linux Mint on harddrive

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
kiwi48

Cant install Linux Mint on harddrive

Post by kiwi48 »

Hey Everybody, I am new to linux and tried to install mint from the dvd. It failed and I got the following error message:

The installer encountered an error copying files to the hard disk:

[Errno 30] Read-only file system

This is often due to a faulty CD/DVD disk or drive, or a faulty hard disk. It may help to clean the CD/DVD, to burn the CD/DVD at a lower speed, to clean the CD/DVD drive lens (cleaning kits are often available from electronics suppliers), to check whether the hard disk is old and in need of replacement, or to move the system to a cooler environment.

Is this a problem that can be fixed? I am trying to install on a Dell inspiron 1525.

Thanks for any help
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 4 times in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
kyphi
Level 9
Level 9

Re: Cant install linux min on harddrive

Post by kyphi »

Keeping in mind that the Inspiron 1525 is rather ancient (at least 7 years old), a faulty hard drive as mentioned in the error messages cannot be discounted.

First I would question if the downloaded Linux Mint DVD has undergone the usual integrity check via md5sum.
Secondly, did the DVD run OK as a live DVD prior to attempting to install.
Linux Mint 21.3 Cinnamon
kiwi48

Post by kiwi48 »

Yeah, I think the hard drive has probably had it. The MD5 checked out. The live DVD is working and is currently my main operating system now. heaps better than vista
Pjotr
Level 23
Level 23

Post by Pjotr »

You might test the hard drive with free diagnostic software from your hard disk manufacturer:

Seagate:
http://www.seagate.com/support/download ... os-master/