initramfs -- what does it want?

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

initramfs -- what does it want?

Postby Kirsten on Fri Jan 30, 2009 11:51 pm

Elyssa (KDE) install problem

I successfully partitioned, but when installing it gave me an error, telling me
I needed to clean my laser lens or something.
Now on trying to reboot from the Live DVD it hangs at: (initramfs):
(I've tried booting on a new disc burn but I get the same thing.)
There's a busybox message saying. "type "help""
Not much help, as I've typed a lot of the commands listed to no avail.
How do I get past this to install Mint? I'm a newbie. :oops:
K
EDIT: Added info
Kirsten
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2009 11:37 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: initramfs -- what does it want?

Postby garda on Sat Jan 31, 2009 4:22 am

Now on trying to reboot from the Live DVD

Is that a typo, or do you actually have an Elyssa KDE CE Live DVD?
If the latter is true, where did you get it from?
The Mint team never released Live DVD's for any Elyssa editions.

I suspect you are having trouble with an unofficially altered (or tampered) version of the Live disc, am I correct?

The generic solution would be to burn the ISO all over again, at the lowest possible speed supported by the burning software and the disc. Try that and see how it turns out.

We also need some information regarding the technical specifications of your computer, such as:

- Make and model of the processor.
- RAM size.
- Mainboard chipset.
User avatar
garda
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 744
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2008 2:55 am
Location: /root

Re: initramfs -- what does it want?

Postby Kirsten on Sat Jan 31, 2009 11:53 am

garda wrote:
Now on trying to reboot from the Live DVD

Is that a typo, or do you actually have an Elyssa KDE CE Live DVD?
If the latter is true, where did you get it from?
The Mint team never released Live DVD's for any Elyssa editions.

I suspect you are having trouble with an unofficially altered (or tampered) version of the Live disc, am I correct?


Umm.. I downloaded the iso here
It's 1.2 Gb, too large to fit on a CD, so I burned it on a DVD.
Until I tried installing it worked just fine in Live mode.
The install was successful through step 5 of 6; it failed during step 6 of 6.

The generic solution would be to burn the ISO all over again, at the lowest possible speed supported by the burning software and the disc. Try that and see how it turns out.

We also need some information regarding the technical specifications of your computer, such as:

- Make and model of the processor.
- RAM size.
- Mainboard chipset.

1. Intel P4; 2.53GHz; Northwood; socket 478
2. 512
3. Intel 845G/GL/GE Brookdale Host-Hub Interface Bridge (B1-step)

Thanks; I will try burning another iso at 1X speed, on the same machine I'm trying to install to.
:?
Kirsten
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2009 11:37 pm

Re: initramfs -- what does it want?

Postby garda on Sat Jan 31, 2009 12:37 pm

Oh, I forgot that the KDE CE ISO was a DVD image. Sorry about that. :oops:

If you still get trouble with the new burn, your smallish amount of RAM may be the cause to the problem. I think so because you have 512 MB of system RAM and integrated graphics, judging by your mainboard chipset (Intel 845G). KDE CE Live DVD requires more RAM compared to the Main Edition's Live CD.

If your computer really does run on integrated graphics, it only has less than 512 MB for everything else (some portion of the RAM is reserved for graphics).

The XFCE CE or the Main (Gnome) Edition better suits your situation than KDE CE does, in my humble opinion.

Perhaps someone who knows better will correct me if I turn out to be wrong.
User avatar
garda
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 744
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2008 2:55 am
Location: /root

Re: initramfs -- what does it want?

Postby rivenought on Sat Jan 31, 2009 1:39 pm

Thinking out loud....

With 512 RAM, you may have to try the install a couple more times to see if it catches. I read that in the release notes in regards to having the installer "fail."

There is also the option of "compatibility mode" which may help, and it usually will not hurt. I have done that before with positive results. Press any key during boot, choose "compatibility mode" from the menu, and go from there. I know it helps out during booting the live disc, but not sure about the rest of the installation. The Ubiquity installer has been known to flake out every now and then.

I agree that the Xfce or GNOME versions might work better, but KDE should still function just fine once installed. If the partitions are already set up with a generous /swap, then that will help.

Did Husse mention something about the Intel Brookdale chips recently? Brookdale sounds familiar for some reason.
rivenought
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 780
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2008 10:34 am

Re: initramfs -- what does it want?

Postby Kirsten on Sat Jan 31, 2009 2:32 pm

Garda

Thanks; I'll go ahead and try the burn on that machine. The isos I was trying were burned
on a different machine (shouldn't matter, but...).

KDE CE Live DVD requires more RAM compared to the Main Edition's Live CD.

Aha! Whatever initramfs actually is, breaking the word into its component parts:
init - initialize; ramfs - filesystem in RAM, then the memory starvation you
allude to makes sense. SIW (System Information for Windows) shows that nearly 60%
of my memory is used up just running SIW and whatever else XP runs in the background
(firewall, AV, etc.).
Except that the live DVD did work before the install attempt. :?

Oh well. I've been using another distro's KDE on a lappy for a year; never tried Gnome.
But, the solution may well be the Main Edition, as you've suggested. (Or add a memory stick.)

Rivenought, (your post came in as I was replying)

But first, I'll keep trying to install Elyssa KDE CE a few more times, and give compatibility
mode a try (if I can).

Many thanks to you both! :)
K
Kirsten
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2009 11:37 pm

Re: initramfs -- what does it want?

Postby garda on Sun Feb 01, 2009 11:14 am

@Kirsten:

You are welcome. :)

@rivernought:
Did Husse mention something about the Intel Brookdale chips recently? Brookdale sounds familiar for some reason.

You are absolutely right! Husse did mention Brookdale in some of his posts related to problems in Mint 6, not Mint 5 :

[SOLVED] Windows resize during game play
trouble installing linux mint on my dell system
no desktop effects with Mint 6
User avatar
garda
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 744
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2008 2:55 am
Location: /root

Re: initramfs -- what does it want?

Postby Kirsten on Tue Feb 03, 2009 11:02 pm

Hi, guys,
Just a follow up. I really appreciate your taking the time to help me out.

Sadly, I never could get any of my live-CDs or -DVDs to ever boot up again,
though I tried many times, even in compatibility mode. Tried Elyssa KDE CE
and the Main -- Felicia (forgot to try Daryna KDE CE - :oops: -- I have the live-cd).
Oh well, it's an old, not very beefy computer.

Not to denigrate Mint (I <3 Mint!) or to be an other-distro fan-grrl here, but I got
pclinuxos installed and also got the BIG UPDATE done (Hint: do the BIG UPDATE via CLI,
not GUI, if pclos is your bag). That'll do me for now, at least until I get around to
installing another memstick into the old desktop, or...

...or, I may be getting due for another lappy soon-ish. :D The video on this Dell Insp. is dying.
I'm thinking about a Sager. Have this Dell fixed, and give the old E-Machines desktop
to a friend. Keep pclos on the Dell + use it for a test machine. Mint the new lappy. :mrgreen:

Anyway, I'm still thinking minty thoughts. Thanks again for your help.
:)
KHJ
Kirsten
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2009 11:37 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Krills and 13 guests