Mint 6 Live Cd wont boot

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

Mint 6 Live Cd wont boot

Postby 85stang on Thu Feb 05, 2009 2:11 pm

I have a Dell XPS 720 that Mint 5 works great on. Mint 6 will not boot, it goes to a mint@mint prompt and won't start the GUI. if you type startx it gives you this:
Fatal server error:
no screens found
giving up.
xinit: Connection refused (errno 111): unable to connect to X server
xinit: No such process (errno 3): Server error.

I would really like to upgrade to 6 and would like to get past this problem. This happens with the 64 or 32 bit version.
85stang
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2009 10:00 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Mint 6 Live Cd wont boot

Postby garda on Fri Feb 06, 2009 4:01 am

Have you tried booting with Compatibility Mode option?

As for the command part, this is the right one to start X in Mint and Ubuntu:
Code: Select all
sudo /etc/init.d/gdm stop; sudo /etc/init.d/gdm start

Or just press CTRL+ALT+F7. If you get an error message, but aren't given a prompt, you can press CTRL+C.
User avatar
garda
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 744
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2008 2:55 am
Location: /root

Re: Mint 6 Live Cd wont boot

Postby 85stang on Wed Feb 11, 2009 5:37 pm

I tried the compatibitly mode option, it nets the same thing. I tried the sudo /etc/init.d/gdm start command, but it just gives me a blinking cursor in the upper left corner, and I can switch back to terminal with ctrl-alt-F1 and back to the cursor with ctrl-alt-F7 I found a post on ubuntu forums where someone had a similar problem and it was suggested to try editing the xorg.conf file with busid "PCI:6:0:0" where you put the actual bus id of your particular video card, which i verified with the xorg on my hard drive now but that didnt work either.
85stang
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2009 10:00 am

Re: Mint 6 Live Cd wont boot

Postby Cato on Thu Mar 19, 2009 5:38 pm

I'm having the exact same problem. Does anyone have any idea how to fix this?

I haven't tried mint4win yet, but is there a way to do a full install from inside a mint4win installation?
Cato
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2009 3:30 pm


Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: xyroz and 23 guests