Instal fails

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Instal fails

Postby RheinholdsMonkey on Tue Apr 17, 2007 12:36 am

Ok here as strange one...

Putting box a together...want to format a drive that had Mandriva on it..
install goes fine...no errors..finish instal...reboot...Mandriva...still there no Minty goodness...:-)

I am going to format the drive prior to install and try it again..
any ideas what would cause that....I did it three times...same result
install goes fine...but on reboot...back to an old Mandriva.
I checked it out with another live run distro...just to see if there was loader problems...no all Mandriva partition intact...

maybe the ghost of Gael :-).......
RheinholdsMonkey
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2007 3:29 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby Boo on Tue Apr 17, 2007 1:06 am

was mandriva using file system like xfs or jfs or a logical volume?
mint might have installed to some unused space or it deleted an ext? partition that was there but not the / of mandriva and then didn't write grub to the mbr.

or your computer hates you.
:lol:
Image
Now where was i going? Oh yes, crazy!
User avatar
Boo
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2364
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:48 am

Postby RheinholdsMonkey on Tue Apr 17, 2007 4:16 pm

Ok..so I used gparted live removed all partions
re installed...no problems...but again
on reboot back to Mandiva it wants to go...

So this is taking too much time...
So I put in another HDD as primary
move the problem drive to slave.

reinstalled again to problems...
go to reboot....back to Mandriva..

Ok yank the slave drive
reboot...first I get grub error 22
so put in the install cd
choose boot from hardrive...presto theres my minty goodness
take out install cd...reboot

disk boot faiure from Bios...

yep this machine just dont like me...

So I remember from what 98 the old /mbr trick....

so do i have to let M$ back in my other wise uncontaminated house
just to wipe a friggen master boot record..
RheinholdsMonkey
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2007 3:29 pm

Postby RheinholdsMonkey on Tue Apr 17, 2007 5:40 pm

ok so know i am trying.. Dariks Boot and Nuke to see if that will complete
remove all data and partitions from the drive...
to try yet another install...
RheinholdsMonkey
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2007 3:29 pm

Postby telic on Tue Apr 17, 2007 7:52 pm

so do i have to let M$ back in my other wise uncontaminated house


I utilize the Ultimate Boot CD to clean up my hard drives and diagnose PC problems. The UBCD uses FreeDOS and Linux.

Image

-------
telic
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 188
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 7:48 am

Postby RheinholdsMonkey on Tue Apr 17, 2007 10:14 pm

well aint that the swiss knife of whatsits...

cleaned those drives right up..

gots me some some more minty goodness now...

and a Ultimate Boot cd...tah for the link...funny though
I was reading on the site...didnt put fdisk in just in case M$ thugerised him..

So I am thinking the drive that gave me so much trouble was recycled out of one of my servers and was probably running reiserfs..but you would think gparted could deal with that

anyhow damm near wasted a whole day...but one more minty fresh install done :-) and now I know about the Ultimate boot cd to boot..cheers
RheinholdsMonkey
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2007 3:29 pm

Postby allforcarrie on Wed Apr 18, 2007 3:24 am

my solution would to be install windoze and install mint over the top. Microsoft doesn't like to play nice and likes to take over any drive it installs to. My method might take longer and might not work.
User avatar
allforcarrie
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2007 2:40 pm
Location: Abilene TX

Postby Husse on Wed Apr 18, 2007 8:27 am

@RheinholdsMonkey
Just one thing - you're better off not to put a hdd as slave. Two hdds on the same IDE is no good.....
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby Boo on Wed Apr 18, 2007 8:43 am

Ive been using slave drives for years.
I have fedora 6 on the master and xp and mint on the slave just on this box.
just make sure you set the jumpers to master/slave and not auto assign.

:D
Image
Now where was i going? Oh yes, crazy!
User avatar
Boo
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2364
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:48 am

Postby Husse on Wed Apr 18, 2007 10:36 am

@Boo
Some of my (former) customers have had some "wonderful" problems when they used slave....
(Don't remember what anymore - why don't I write down what I did to solve problems, for future reference)
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby telic on Wed Apr 18, 2007 10:44 am

well aint that the swiss knife of whatsits...


Q: What's even better than the Swiss Knife of Whatsits?
A: The Swiss Knife of Whatsits with a full-feature Linux (and X) which can be invoked as a UBCD menu item.

Here's how to make a bootable UBCD disc that includes the Puppy Linux live CD...

Download version 4.0.3 of the UBCD ISO file [here]. The zipped file is about 88 megabytes in size.

Download version 2.15CE of the Puppy Linux ISO file [here]. It's about 132 megabytes.

Within your Linux Mint home directory (cd ~), use your favorite (un)archive utility to extract the UBCD ISO file into a directory named ubcd, and extract the Puppy Linux ISO file into a directory named puppy. Make sure that these directories and their contents have normal user (non-root) permissions.

Your ~/puppy directory should have these files...
Code: Select all
boot.cat
boot.msg
initrd.gz
isolinux.bin
isolinux.cfg
pup_215.sfs
vmlinuz
zdrv_215.sfs


Use a file manager to copy the following files from puppy to ubcd (note directories and renames)...
* copy ~/puppy/pup_215.sfs into ~/ubcd
* copy ~/puppy/zdrv_215.sfs into ~/ubcd
* copy ~/puppy/vmlinuz to ~/ubcd/custom/puppy
* copy ~/puppy/initrd.gz to ~/ubcd/custom/puppy.gz

Your ~/ubcd directory should now look like this...
Code: Select all
boot\
custom\
   custom.cfg
   puppy
   puppy.gz
dosapps\
images\
isolinux\
menus\
syslinux\
tools\
website\
autorun.inf
pup_215.sfs
ubcd.ico
zdrv_215.sfs

If you see [BOOT] and/or boot.catalog in that ubcd directory, remove them.

Edit the ~/ubcd/custom/custom.cfg text file to look like this...
Code: Select all
MENU INCLUDE /menus/defaults.cfg
LABEL back
   MENU LABEL ..
   KERNEL menu.c32
   APPEND /menus/main.cfg
LABEL puppy
  MENU LABEL PuppyLinux v2.15CE
  KERNEL /custom/puppy
  APPEND root=/dev/ram0 initrd=/custom/puppy.gz loglevel=3 PMEDIA=idecd


From within your home directory, create an updated ISO using one long mkisofs command...
Code: Select all
mkisofs -b "isolinux/isolinux.bin" -boot-load-size 4 -boot-info-table -J -joliet-long -no-emul-boot -V "UBCD403" -o "ubcd403-pup215.iso" "ubcd"


The new ISO file (ubcd403-pup215.iso) weighs in at around 239MB. It can be burned to CD using the Nautilus file manager "Write to disc" function.

You boot to UBCD as usual, but now the User-Defined Tools menu has PuppyLinux v2.15CE.

Puppy Linux is tiny yet packs quite a bit of software, plus codecs. Drives (un)mount using a GUI tool. There's a setup wizard for virtually everything. Mozilla browser with Flash. FTP. BitTorrent. CD/DVD burning/ripping. And the desktop windows manager isn't too fugly.

Now that's a knife!

------
telic
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 188
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 7:48 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests