boot fails

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

boot fails

Postby Bart_ellebaut on Wed Apr 18, 2007 8:01 am

Hey, I just tried to install mint, but it fails.Suddenly everything turns black, can't move mouse or anything, can't see anything.
But when I boot with the CD, it only says: start ...
nothing about installing.
(btw: I've downloaded the light version, don't know if that makes the differens)

thx
Bart
Bart_ellebaut
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 7:52 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby Husse on Wed Apr 18, 2007 8:07 am

Welcome to Mint, Bart_ellebaut
Installing is done from the desktop when/if you see it, so there is no install alternative when you boot.
Have you succeeded to get to the desktop?
If not I think this problemsolver is for you:
http://www.linuxmint.com/wiki/index.php ... ur_Live_CD
If you've reached the desktop and started the install pls tell us exactly where you have a blackout :)
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby Bart_ellebaut on Wed Apr 18, 2007 8:13 am

I have a blackout before I reach the desktop.
At this time, it is starting in graphic mode or something like that, and I've got something, well, it just ain't black this time.

I've looked at that link, but can't find recovery mode, could you tell me where to find that?

thx for the quick reply

Bart
Bart_ellebaut
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 7:52 am

Postby Bart_ellebaut on Wed Apr 18, 2007 8:29 am

I'm back, well, I've only got 2 icons: computer and Mint's home
so nothing 'bout installing mint
and I still can't move my cursor.
Bart_ellebaut
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 7:52 am

Postby Boo on Wed Apr 18, 2007 8:58 am

your not quite there yet.
there should be an install icon on the desktop.
this sounds like an xorg.conf problem.

what are the specs of your system?
:)
Image
Now where was i going? Oh yes, crazy!
User avatar
Boo
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2364
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:48 am

Postby Bart_ellebaut on Wed Apr 18, 2007 9:19 am

what problem?

the specs? I have no idea, where can I find this?
Bart_ellebaut
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 7:52 am

Postby Boo on Wed Apr 18, 2007 9:32 am

I ment what type of computer are you using? or what are the main components.
CPU, RAM, video card, etc.
:)
Image
Now where was i going? Oh yes, crazy!
User avatar
Boo
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2364
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:48 am

Postby Bart_ellebaut on Wed Apr 18, 2007 10:14 am

I've got a freeze again. never got an icon of install, can't move anything.

Intel Celeron(R) CPU 2.80GHz
192 MB ram
But I can't find the videocard
Bart_ellebaut
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 7:52 am

Postby Husse on Wed Apr 18, 2007 1:24 pm

Intel Celeron(R) CPU 2.80GHz
192 MB ram

That's odd!
So little RAM and a relatively OK CPU
If you really have 192 MB that's a no go
As I've found out from my own experience and posts in the forum you probably need about 220 MB
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby Boo on Wed Apr 18, 2007 8:12 pm

this is why an install option at boot would be good.
:)
Image
Now where was i going? Oh yes, crazy!
User avatar
Boo
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2364
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:48 am

Postby Husse on Thu Apr 19, 2007 5:54 am

Minter_dk is working on one, but I doubt 192 MB would be enough anyway - maybe, maybe not
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 21 guests