Screen while booting

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Screen while booting

Postby BaidareW on Sun Mar 08, 2009 9:33 am

Hi,
when booting (on shutdown too) my x64 Mint 6 is not showing boot logo on all screen, in the corners there is a black space (frame) around picture, how can I make it to bee on all screen (in setting changed to wide screen, but it didn't helped).
BaidareW
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2009 10:41 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Screen while booting

Postby Husse on Sun Mar 08, 2009 2:34 pm

I don't care but it does not look quite good, I agree
This is simple - you have to change the resolution of the image
Unfortunately some computers get the usplash in the wrong size - this will be solved in the next version of Mint - Gloria
You can fix it rather simply
Code: Select all
gksu gedit /etc/usplash.conf

You should probably use a resolution that is one or two steps lower that the present one - remember it's the image you change - not the screen resolution
Then
Code: Select all
sudo update-initramfs -u

Please take care as some bad mistake here can cause trouble
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Screen while booting

Postby BaidareW on Tue Mar 10, 2009 6:35 am

So if I found:

Code: Select all
xres=1680
yres=1050


I should change them to something like:

Code: Select all
xres=1600
yres=1024


?
BaidareW
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2009 10:41 am

Re: Screen while booting

Postby Husse on Tue Mar 10, 2009 7:39 am

More like 1280 x 1024 or perhaps the wide screen version of it
Two or three steps below what you have
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Screen while booting

Postby BaidareW on Tue Mar 10, 2009 8:03 am

I get the same boot screen with frames after changing to 1280x1024. Maybe I shoud change picture that is shown with gimp to my screen resolution ?
BaidareW
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2009 10:41 am


Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: diegoandresalvarez and 17 guests