Bea is very slow and unresponsive

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Bea is very slow and unresponsive

Postby sodix on Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:10 pm

Hello, I tried Bea live on my PC (PIV 256MB HD40+80GB).
It booted very slow and then after the desktop loaded, using the system is very unresponsive.

Edgy is installed and work fine.
Barbara also works fine on this machine and I really like it.

I waited for somebody to report the same problem, but it seems I am the only one to experience it.

All the best
sodix
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 11:54 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby jonpackard on Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:13 pm

Do you have another PC you can test your CD on? Perhaps there is a problem with your CD. Did you check the md5sum of the ISO after you downloaded it?
User avatar
jonpackard
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 5:44 pm
Location: Bradenton, FL, USA

Postby sodix on Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:35 pm

In fact I tried Bea on my old laptop and the symptom is still the same.
(It's Toshiba Tecra8200 PIII RAM256, Edgy and Dapper installed fine here).

Yes, md5sums checked, but anyway I'll burn again and will revert.

All the best.
sodix
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 11:54 am

Postby sodix on Tue Dec 05, 2006 5:16 pm

O.K. I downloaded again the iso and burned it with slow speed (8x).
Everything is fine now :)
sodix
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 11:54 am

Postby clem on Tue Dec 05, 2006 8:20 pm

You can't have everything... an OS that's fast to use AND fast to burn :)
User avatar
clem
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5553
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am

Postby sodix on Sat Dec 09, 2006 12:17 am

clem wrote:You can't have everything... an OS that's fast to use AND fast to burn :)


that's fair enough .. :D

all the best
sodix
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 11:54 am

Postby sodix on Mon Dec 11, 2006 2:01 pm

sodix wrote:O.K. I downloaded again the iso and burned it with slow speed (8x).
Everything is fine now :)


oh my, seems i have to amend my word.

i tried again the newly dowloaded cd, and regret to inform that apparently the problem is still there :(

btw, i also downloaded and tried xpress linux, ulteo and pioneer linux (all of them based on ubuntu).

xpress linux and ulteo boot and work fine, but pioneer linux has the excatly the same problem with bea.

all the best
sodix
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 11:54 am

Postby clem on Mon Dec 11, 2006 2:22 pm

Hmm.. maybe it's Beagle and its indexation. Try removing Beagle and after a reboot, see if the performance are better.

Clem
User avatar
clem
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5553
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am

Postby absnewby on Mon Dec 11, 2006 9:34 pm

Clem. I think this is an amazing release. I installed it yesterday and I love it! For the past few weeks I have been playing around with 5-6 linux distros and though I liked Ubuntu, found it full of problems. For instance I couldn't use skype, my sound card was always locking up at login, I had to go to the terminal and kill esd before I could login. I had the same problem with Barbara. I occasionally have experienced this in bea, though not all the time!!

I am curious as to why the lock up occurs at logon. If you find time to answer please keep in mind that I am a noob.

With Bea I have full multimedia support, my computer runs really well and is fast. I did not find it slow and unresponsive. Sadly though my ATI card does not support 3D effects. I think Bea is here to stay on my hard drive permanently. I am even going to install it on my parents comp when I visit them next.

Anyhow congratulations on this great release (even though this is a beta its the best distro that I have used). I am going to spread the word about Bea wherever I can.
absnewby
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 9:23 pm

Postby clem on Tue Dec 12, 2006 6:45 am

Waoo thanks :)

It's nice to hear that.

I believe Skype doesn't use ALSA and that creates problems and interfere with other audio applications. And because it's not open-source there's nothing we can do to fix that problem.. (I might be wrong on that though).

I used Skype on Linux by the past and although it is a nice application I never found it very stable.

Clem
User avatar
clem
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5553
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am

Postby Billcnz on Mon Jan 01, 2007 4:26 pm

I had similar performance issues (except to a more extreme extent) when I tested LinuxMint livecd on a low spec system with 192 MB ram. The desktop eventually loaded but there was no memory left for running apps. I had thought it would automatically activate a pre-existing swap partition but I had a boot message that said something like: "Activating Swap ......... mount function unsupported".

I was able to combat it by doing Ctrl + Alt + F2 and waiting for the console, it was still strugling to load something in rc.local so I did a Ctrl + C to get to the prompt. Next I was able to turn on my swap partition by doing: sudo swapon /dev/hda2
(I have a 512 MB swap partition on hda2) that freed up some memory so I was able to flip back to the graphics console with Ctrl + Alt + F7 and run apps. I ran the installer and chose to manually partition and unticked the box to format the swap partition since it was already in use. The install completed fine and once I rebooted I had no performance issues running from the hard drive.

Bill
Billcnz
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2007 4:00 pm

Postby zolly on Mon Jan 01, 2007 7:40 pm

It is important to have:
- a big swap partition (I use 1GB)
- to run from your HDD (not from LiveCD)
- a good computer

Even in my laptop (which is not very old) I remarked a very little delay in menus (what you posted) but only first time.
User avatar
zolly
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon Dec 25, 2006 6:42 am

Postby clem on Tue Jan 02, 2007 7:22 am

The menu uses the icon theme, which is cached to optimize performances. The first time you look at the menu, the cache is generated and that makes it slower (also, it obviously doesn't use the cache but reads from the icon theme directly...).

Clem
User avatar
clem
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5553
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am

Postby Dr.U on Fri Jan 05, 2007 7:06 am

sodix wrote:
sodix wrote:O.K. I downloaded again the iso and burned it with slow speed (8x).
Everything is fine now :)


oh my, seems i have to amend my word.

i tried again the newly dowloaded cd, and regret to inform that apparently the problem is still there :(

btw, i also downloaded and tried xpress linux, ulteo and pioneer linux (all of them based on ubuntu).

xpress linux and ulteo boot and work fine, but pioneer linux has the excatly the same problem with bea.

all the best


Hello, sodix!

I hope that you are still using Linux Mint Bea and perhaps have solved your problem. I have a very similar performance problem but only when my router is turned off and I try to use Gnome applications. For more details you can check out my original thread in the "General Help" forum. Let me know if your problem is like mine or completely different.

Regards,
-- Dr.U
User avatar
Dr.U
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 10:24 am
Location: Ettlingen, Germany

Postby sodix on Fri Mar 09, 2007 12:54 am

Hello all,
sorry for not replying for long time.

this time i tried to install bianca on my laptop and unfortunately the problem is still there.
it's very unresponsive i could not even finish the installation

as an additional info (i don't know if it is important) there are 4 partitions on the hd:
hda1 5gb win 98 fat
hda2 512 mb swap
hda3 7 gb ubuntu feisty alpha 4
hda4 7 gb ubuntu dapper

i really want to install linux mint .... :cry:
sodix
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 11:54 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests