Question about uninstallation

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

Question about uninstallation

Postby strophe on Sun Mar 08, 2009 10:50 pm

Basically: how?

I purchased a used system with Linux Mint installed on it. I've never used Linux before at all (been meaning to for years :), but I dinked around with this quite a bit, learning my way, etc. It's really smooth and I love it -- but I purchased this system for my girlfriend, who doesn't want to use Linux. How do I uninstall / delete / departition Linux from the harddrive? I've tried several tutorials online, had a friend take a look.. done all sorts of things that are no doubt WRONG, but I can't get it to go anywhere.

Please bear in mind that I am a complete Linux beginner, so something even as simple as going to "Root" is beyond me at the moment. Is there a forum or walkthrough that'll allow me to fairly simple wipe this operating system from this harddrive? I plan on re-installing it on one of my personal machines, just to get more used to Linux in general, but for the time being, I'd appreciate assistance in taking it off.

*I do have a Windows XP install disc, which my girl would like to have on there
*I also have the Linux Mint OS disc

Thanks,
Jason
strophe
Level 1
Level 1

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.

Re: Question about uninstallation

Postby DataMan on Mon Mar 09, 2009 5:17 am

I've been away from active Windows use so long that I'm not 100% on this but, since you do have the Windows Install CD, why not just boot to it and install using the whole hard drive? That should take care of over-writing the Linux partition(s) and also write a new MBR (Master Boot Record).

If that doesn't do the trick, you may have to go in a wipe out all of the partitions before re-installing Windows. Post back if you need to go that route.

Good Luck,

DataMan
Linux'd since 2005 Linux ID 422356 Ubuntu ID 15015
DataMan
Level 6
Level 6