SOLVED Faulty mbd -cant install mint 6. please help.

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

SOLVED Faulty mbd -cant install mint 6. please help.

Postby robma65 on Sun Mar 15, 2009 8:47 pm

Hi all. Im pretty much a total newbie to linux, have done a very small bit on bsd and have been having some issues installing mint 6. I had issues on the initial boot but after downloading twice, burning the iso cd 3 times, taking out my video card and making a couple of changes to the bios i eventually got to the desktop. Now when i try to install from the desktop i get "failed to execute child process "ubiquity" (input/output error)". I have rebooted a few times but keep getting the same error. Please help. I have xp installed but also have a second hdd installed which is blank, i want to use this one for mint and keep the other just for xp until i get used to linux. My system has 1g ram, p4 3ghz, had a nvidea card in which i took out (now using onboard gfx), and sound blaster xfi. not sure of the motherboard (its advent). Can someone please help, i dont want my linux experience to end before it starts.
B.t.w. i also tried pclinuxos and fedora. neither would boot.
Thanks,
Rob

Im using gnome desktop if that helps
Last edited by robma65 on Sun Mar 22, 2009 12:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.
robma65
Level 1
Level 1

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.

Re: cant install mint 6. please help.

Postby rivenought on Sun Mar 15, 2009 9:23 pm

I am going to think out loud for a minute.

Have you tried "compatibility mode?" Did you check the MD5 and burn at the lowest possible speed? Have you tried physically unhooking your XP drive and leaving the blank drive for the Mint install? Do you have the CD-ROM drive on a separate cable from the hard drive? Have you used the partition editor to set up your partitions, especially a /swap, on the target drive before running the installer?