File dialog not working properly

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

File dialog not working properly

Postby yduchesne on Sun Mar 22, 2009 8:20 am

Hi all,

I have successfully installed Mint 6 on my Compaq Presario CQ60, with wireless and all. Yet, there is a strange issue: whenever a attempt to do a "file save as" from any application, the file dialog that appears does not allow me to change the directory (I can't navigate in the directory tree). The dialog does not even allow entering a name for the file, and the buttons are disabled. Basically, the dialog looks frozen - and that's from Gedit, OpenOffice, Mozilla... This basically means I can't create files from these applications...

Does anyone have a clue ?
Attachments
FileDialog.png
file dialog screenshot
FileDialog.png (134.3 KiB) Viewed 358 times
yduchesne
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2009 8:06 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: File dialog not working properly

Postby Husse on Sun Mar 22, 2009 11:59 am

Strange as it may sound this can be a problem with the graphics driver
You have to tell us more facts.
The minimum is exactly which Mint you have - which version and which edition (main or any of the CEs)
We also need to know a bit about all your hardware.
Run " lspci " in a terminal and post here (To copy from a terminal right click)
Some wifi and possibly built in sound can be connected to USB even if they are internal - if you suspect you have one of these run " lsusb " in a terminal.
Also tell us if this is using mint4win or not, quite important
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: File dialog not working properly

Postby yduchesne on Sun Mar 22, 2009 5:22 pm

OK, here is the info:

Mint version: Mint 6 Main

I did not use Mintwin. I zapped Windows entirely, installing from the ISO image that I had downloaded from the Mint site.
I have an AMD Athlon X2 64 bits, Nvidia graphics cards, Atheros wifi card (see below for hardware output).

lsusb
Bus 004 Device 002: ID 04f2:b091 Chicony Electronics Co., Ltd
Bus 004 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 003 Device 002: ID 0bda:0158 Realtek Semiconductor Corp. Mass Stroage Device
Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 002 Device 003: ID 046d:c526 Logitech, Inc.
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub

lspci output:
00:00.0 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation MCP78S [GeForce 8200] Memory Controller (rev a2)
00:01.0 ISA bridge: nVidia Corporation Device 075e (rev a2)
00:01.1 SMBus: nVidia Corporation MCP78S [GeForce 8200] SMBus (rev a1)
00:01.3 Co-processor: nVidia Corporation MCP78S [GeForce 8200] Co-Processor (rev a2)
00:01.4 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation MCP78S [GeForce 8200] Memory Controller (rev a1)
00:02.0 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP78S [GeForce 8200] OHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev a1)
00:02.1 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP78S [GeForce 8200] EHCI USB 2.0 Controller (rev a1)
00:04.0 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP78S [GeForce 8200] OHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev a1)
00:04.1 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP78S [GeForce 8200] EHCI USB 2.0 Controller (rev a1)
00:06.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP78S [GeForce 8200] IDE (rev a1)
00:07.0 Audio device: nVidia Corporation Realtek ALC1200 8-Channel High Definition Audio Codec (rev a1)
00:08.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP78S [GeForce 8200] PCI Bridge (rev a1)
00:09.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation Device 0ad0 (rev a2)
00:0a.0 Ethernet controller: nVidia Corporation MCP78S [GeForce 8200] Ethernet (rev a2)
00:0b.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP78S [GeForce 8200] PCI Express Bridge (rev a1)
00:14.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation Device 077a (rev a1)
00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 11h HyperTransport Configuration (rev 40)
00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 11h Address Map
00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 11h DRAM Controller
00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 11h Miscellaneous Control
00:18.4 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 11h Link Control
02:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation Device 0845 (rev a2)
07:00.0 Ethernet controller: Atheros Communications Inc. AR242x 802.11abg Wireless PCI Express Adapter (rev 01)
yduchesne
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2009 8:06 am

Re: File dialog not working properly

Postby yduchesne on Sun Mar 22, 2009 6:35 pm

Would installing XCFE provide a workaround ? Is there an XCFE package that I can install on Mint through apt-get, without having to go through the pain of a reinstall - of Mint XCFE ?
yduchesne
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2009 8:06 am

Re: File dialog not working properly

Postby yduchesne on Sun Mar 22, 2009 8:16 pm

Ah! Super: hi installed xfce4 from Synaptic, re-logged under an xfce session, and bingo. Now it works! What a joy: MS Vista used to take 1GB of RAM, now my Mint/XFCE takes around 300MB! It really makes for a snappy, convenient, simple, efficient system.

Congrats, I am a new and happy MS to Linux convert. I will spread the word!
yduchesne
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2009 8:06 am


Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: aqmint, PatH57, shut and 19 guests