1st HDD not recognized

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

1st HDD not recognized

Postby denster on Mon Mar 23, 2009 9:50 pm

I am really struggling with this one. I have always had multi drive multi partitions set up in my PC.
I realize this is probably asking for trouble -but I enjoy a good challenge and I am not one to give up easy --This is how I learn -no pain -no gain.

I Have 5 SATA drives:

1: GRUB @ MBR (using menu.lst from MINT) / Vista (not sure if I wanted to admit this or not but for the sake of honesty and help I must)
2: Server 2008 / Ext. Partition {swap, UE 2.0, Sabayon, Mepis, Suse, MINT)
3: RAID 0 -These 2 drives
4: RAID 0 - in RAID 0
5: 1TB drive

I can't get MINT to see and mount my 1st drive.
Mint has actually seen it before and mounted but something happened --I have tried everything I know to do and just when I think I have it figured out and reboot -I am foiled again @#$%!
Last edited by denster on Mon Mar 23, 2009 10:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.
denster
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2008 10:53 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: 1st HDD not recognized

Postby merlwiz79 on Mon Mar 23, 2009 10:34 pm

It maybe a problem with windows not unmounting the partition correctly.
Have you tried ntfs-config to mount the drive?
Also post /etc/fstab and blkid output.
User avatar
merlwiz79
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3637
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Here again :)

Re: 1st HDD not recognized

Postby denster on Mon Mar 23, 2009 10:40 pm

was not aware of ntfs-config will try it now.

Here is my fstab... it is a bit of a mess, I have modified it trying to force it. Also commented out the UUID's and replaced with /dev descriptors.

I made a copy of the original so I do have it to put back...

Also I had to add rootdelay=90 to my boot line, or else it just gets lost at boot and lands me at busybox, exiting here does not resume boot...


# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
#
# <file system> <mount point> <type> <options> <dump> <pass>
proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
# /dev/sdb10
## UUID=6ed99587-6938-42af-b86c-043a9f5a8884
/dev/sdb10 / ext3 relatime,errors=remount-ro 0 1
# /dev/sdb5
## UUID=e661a07b-89ed-4f85-9352-b8515c8cdff1
/dev/sdb5 none swap sw 0 0
/dev/scd0 /media/cdrom0 udf,iso9660 user,noauto,exec,utf8 0 0
/dev/cdrom /media/cdrom udf,iso9660 user,noauto,exec,utf8 0 0
### ADDED

## Pluggable devices are handled by uDev, they are not in fstab
## /dev/sdb8 / ext3 defaults,noatime 1 1
## /dev/sdb5 swap swap sw,pri=1 0 0
## proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
## devpts /dev/pts devpts mode=0622 0 0
## Dynamic entries below
/dev/sda1 /media/sda1 ntfs-3g noauto,users,gid=users,dmask=002,fmask=113,relatime 0 0
/dev/sdb1 /media/sdb1 ntfs-3g noauto,users,gid=users,dmask=002,fmask=113,relatime 0 0
/dev/sdb6 /media/sdb6 ext3 noauto,users,exec,relatime 0 0
/dev/sdb7 /media/sdb7 ext3 noauto,users,exec,relatime 0 0
/dev/sdb8 /media/sdb8 ext3 noauto,users,exec,relatime 0 0
/dev/sdb9 /media/sdb9 ext3 noauto,users,exec,relatime 0 0
## /dev/sdb10 /mnt/sdb10 ext3 noauto,users,exec,relatime 0 0
/dev/sde1 /media/sde1 ntfs-3g noauto,users,gid=users,dmask=002,fmask=113,relatime 0 0
/dev/mapper/nvidia_addafdcc1 /media/raid ntfs-3g noauto,users,gid=users,dmask=002,fmask=113,relatime 0 0
## /dev/sdd /mnt/sdd nvidia_raid_member noauto,users,exec,relatime 0 0

## /dev/scd1 /media/cdrom udf,iso9660 noauto,users,exec,ro 0 0
denster
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2008 10:53 pm

Re: 1st HDD not recognized

Postby denster on Mon Mar 23, 2009 10:58 pm

installed ntfs-config and it found my TB drive. Then I rebooted... now I have no mouse or keyboard at console login. However it did recognize ctrl-alt-del.
Tried to reboot in recovery mode still no mouse, no keyboard sheesh louise.
--well... I could try a re-install -I have nothing to lose and a fast machine... but somewhat reluctant because I don't think my problem is going to go away, so it might be better to stick it out and face the demons...
denster
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2008 10:53 pm

Re: 1st HDD not recognized

Postby denster on Tue Mar 24, 2009 8:19 pm

CMOS data got borked - which was very odd -I have never had to reset it before. It was driving me nuts. I had no keyboard at mouse even from the live cd! That is when I knew it had to be something with the way Mint was seeing my hardware.It was working fine in the other operating systems...

In the grand scheme of things, I have decided that perhaps an easy way to resolve this whole drive issue, is to just let Mint be drive 1. I am reinstalling now and hope that it will resolve the confusion.

Ha Ha don't I wish...
denster
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2008 10:53 pm


Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: GaryAtHome, Google Adsense [Bot], rfharabin and 22 guests