Mint 6 XFCE installed, loading problems... (solved)

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
cwoolbright

Mint 6 XFCE installed, loading problems... (solved)

Post by cwoolbright »

Hello all, complete newbie here. I've done ubuntu before, but new to mint...
So I had Vista, created a Mint 6 XFCE liveboot USB... worked great... went ahead to install, did partition and everything...

Now, turning on computer to access Mint for first time, and I get:

Starting up...
[0.349402] ACPI: Aborted because junk in gzipped archive.
[2.972023] Kernel panic - not syncing: VFS: Unable to mount root fs on unknown block (0,0)

This is on my laptop, Acer Aspire 4530.
What do these errors mean? More importantly... how do I fix it?

Thanks all, I really appreciate the help.

I've found http://www.linuxmint.com/wiki/index.php ... annot_boot and thoroughly read through, but very confused! I see that since I cannot boot (well I can in Vista but that's no help) then I need to run the live usb and edit something to do with UUID's... according to this wiki. Well, I want to be very careful so any suggestions? Can you translate this wiki solution into newbie terms?
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
viking777

Re: Mint 6 XFCE installed, loading problems...

Post by viking777 »

More info needed.
Boot from live USB key enter terminal run the following commands and copy and paste the output into the forum.

Code: Select all

sudo fdisk -l

sudo cat /etc/fstab 

sudo blkid -c /dev/null
cwoolbright

Post by cwoolbright »

sudo fdisk -l
fdisk: invalid option -- '1'

Usage: fdisk [-b SSZ] [-u] DISK         Change partition table
           fdisk -l [-b SSZ] [-u] DISK  List partition table(s)