GRUB: how to manipulate statements?

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Postby allan on Tue May 01, 2007 1:59 am

GaTk, How do you change "the GRUB load statement from (hd0) to (fd0)" during the installation process? I am thinking of installting multiple distros myself seem like this may be of help. Thanks...
allan
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2007 6:36 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby Husse on Tue May 01, 2007 5:56 am

@allan
pls start a new thread instead of continuing an old one.
You can select location for grub when you install, when you get the message "Ready to install" A bit down it states "Grub will be installed on hd0" and hd0 is blue and in fact a link. When you click it you will be able to select where you want grub.
Remember that grub starts at 0 so hd0 is otherwise known as hd1
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby scorp123 on Tue May 01, 2007 6:59 am

Topic split ... :wink:
User avatar
scorp123
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2287
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: Switzerland

Postby allan on Tue May 01, 2007 2:02 pm

ok, thanks. Guess I didn't see the blue link for editing the grub install location. Good to know!
allan
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2007 6:36 pm

Postby BrionS on Wed May 02, 2007 9:40 am

I saw the link as well, but didn't think to click on it to change Grub's location. I did go back two pages to see if I had missed a step and found that it made me re-do all my manual partitioning over again (very annoying) :x.

I would suggest that the installer be made a bit clearer as to how to change Grub's location (even a comment next to the link would suffice, "Click the link to change the install location").

Linux Mint is up an running now and I'm very happy with it :D (except for the Grub install which cause an "Error 17" for a long time until I recalled how to install grub to the right location from the live DVD -- using grub-install --root-directory=/mnt/hdc2 /dev/hdc).
BrionS
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 9:20 am


Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: flieger, sumitra, tnim xunil and 24 guests