QTparted problems

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

QTparted problems

Postby hypnotic on Thu May 03, 2007 6:04 am

When I try to manually partition the disk, qtparted within the installer crashes. It has trouble with my first SATA-HD. After disconnecting this hd qtparted works but changes my partition table, sdc7 and sdc8 are switched which is not to big a problem. But the partition info is also not entirely correct. sdc7 = 10 GB; sdc8 = 280GB but sdc7 has 260Gb of free space and sdc8 has 5GB of free space. I found this to be a little bit to tricky to continue. Is it possible to use gparted within the installer? Or does anyone have a workaround/solution? I am really curious about Mint, Kubuntu 7.04 gave me too much hassle and bugs, so for the moment I am gonna go for a single boot with Pardus Linux, hopefully Mint will be my second boot in the near future :p.

Greetings,
Bob
hypnotic
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu May 03, 2007 5:40 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby Boo on Thu May 03, 2007 6:51 am

I think the partitioner (qtparted) in KDE mint is abit flaky.
but yes you can use it from the live cd to partiton the disk first.

some people use a recovery/partitioner distro to setup their disks first, espically if they want lots of partitions and muti boot.

distros like: gparted
or small distros: puppy, dsl

:D
Image
Now where was i going? Oh yes, crazy!
User avatar
Boo
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2364
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:48 am

Postby hypnotic on Thu May 03, 2007 7:02 am

Hi there Boo,

The disks are already partitioned, I only need to select the correct partitions for / and /home.
So I was wondering if i could get through the installer without a partitioner, by only selecting (and not modifying) the correct partitions. (I have a free root partition and a shared home partition)

Greets,
Bob
hypnotic
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu May 03, 2007 5:40 am

Postby Boo on Thu May 03, 2007 7:09 am

yes you can leave the partitions but you need to choose manual partition during the install and not change anything.
then it will give you a list of partitions to set up as / swap /home etc. and which to format.

:D
Image
Now where was i going? Oh yes, crazy!
User avatar
Boo
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2364
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:48 am

Postby hypnotic on Thu May 03, 2007 7:27 am

Thats just the thing that doesnt work for me. Maybe I was a bit unclear in my first post, but with sda connected qtparted within the installer crashes so I cannot choose my root and home partition, with sda disconnected I can see the list of hd's but the partition info on sdc is incorrect. (/ and /home are located on sdc)
hypnotic
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu May 03, 2007 5:40 am

Postby Boo on Thu May 03, 2007 8:10 am

could you try the mint (gnome) cd just for testing purposes?

:D
Image
Now where was i going? Oh yes, crazy!
User avatar
Boo
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2364
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:48 am

Postby hypnotic on Thu May 03, 2007 10:39 am

Worked perfectly with gparted, got one error with booting of the live cd. It said something about an error in the gnome config file, but did not notice something strange. Installed Mint with Gnome and I am now trying to convert it to kde. Too bad there isn't a package that installs all the default configs and applications integrated in Mint KDE.
hypnotic
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu May 03, 2007 5:40 am

Postby Boo on Thu May 03, 2007 8:06 pm

well all the mint apps are there it is just a matter of reconfig of KDE to use them.
and get rid of the crappy KDE apps. :lol:

start with mint menu.

:D
Image
Now where was i going? Oh yes, crazy!
User avatar
Boo
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2364
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:48 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: eanfrid and 10 guests