how to activate alt-F1 thru alt-F6

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

how to activate alt-F1 thru alt-F6

Postby amin on Mon May 07, 2007 10:44 pm

Dear all,

I love this distro, thank you very much.

I have some questions:
1. how to activate alt-F1, alt-F2 etc to have terminal session. I know in Fedora they have /etc/inittab

2. how to mount ntfs partition using ntfs-3g, so it is mounted every time I boot the computer. In /etc/fstab it mounted using mount, but not writeable

thanks
Amin
amin
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon May 07, 2007 2:20 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby Boo on Mon May 07, 2007 11:43 pm

1. try Ctl-alt-F1 to F6

2. you cant put it in fstab as it conflicts with mintdisk. mintdisk manages the ntfs partitions and should mount any discovered when you login and put an icon on the desktop.

ntfs-3g is a userspace ntfs application and only mounts when asked/run by the user (ie mintdisk). so you have to login first.

where is the ntfs disk you are trying to mount at boot?

:D
Image
Now where was i going? Oh yes, crazy!
User avatar
Boo
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2364
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:48 am

Postby amin on Tue May 08, 2007 3:47 am

Boo wrote:1. try Ctl-alt-F1 to F6

2. you cant put it in fstab as it conflicts with mintdisk. mintdisk manages the ntfs partitions and should mount any discovered when you login and put an icon on the desktop.

ntfs-3g is a userspace ntfs application and only mounts when asked/run by the user (ie mintdisk). so you have to login first.

where is the ntfs disk you are trying to mount at boot?

:D


thanks, but:

1. it doesn't work properly, It gave me 640x480 resolution; mine is 1024x768. Maybe I should change some files to correct it ?

2. I am trying to mount /dev/sda1 to /mnt/windows
#ntfs-3g /dev/sda1 /mnt/windows works perfectly, but I want it automatic; any advise where should I put it ?

Thanks in advance
amin
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon May 07, 2007 2:20 am

Postby Boo on Tue May 08, 2007 8:16 am

edit /boot/grub/menu.lst and at the end of the kernel line add vga=792.
eg.
sudo gedit /boot/grub/menu.lst
...
kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.20-15-generic root=UUID=e19265ba-0671-44d1-80ff-e3303eb81be2 ro quiet splash vga=792
...

on reboot your terminals will be 1024x768.

my windows partition automatically shows up when i login.
check out mintdisk under administration.

//edit// check that mintdesktop has mounted volumes ticked. mintmenu-->control center -->desktop -->mintdesktop.

:D
Image
Now where was i going? Oh yes, crazy!
User avatar
Boo
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2364
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:48 am

Postby amin on Tue May 08, 2007 8:48 am

Boo wrote:edit /boot/grub/menu.lst and at the end of the kernel line add vga=792.
eg.
sudo gedit /boot/grub/menu.lst
...
kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.20-15-generic root=UUID=e19265ba-0671-44d1-80ff-e3303eb81be2 ro quiet splash vga=792
...

on reboot your terminals will be 1024x768.

my windows partition automatically shows up when i login.
check out mintdisk under admin.

:D


OH BOY, OH BOY
THIS IS PERFECT. MORE AND MORE I LOVE THIS DISTRO.

YES, it is the solution:
1. You just put vga=792 and press ctrl-alt-F1 thru F7 (please see above)
2. mintDisk to mount ntfs automatically

THANKS BOO, you are cool.
amin
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon May 07, 2007 2:20 am

Postby amin on Tue May 08, 2007 9:07 am

By the way BOO,

what is the name of file to control the terminal sessions; I'm not too familiar with Deb distros. I know it is /etc/inittab in Fedora though. Usually what I do is to set only 3 terminal available ie. ctrl-alt-f1, f2, and f3
amin
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon May 07, 2007 2:20 am

Postby Boo on Tue May 08, 2007 10:11 am

teleinit was replaced by upstart.
so inittab is gone.

instead we have a directory /etc/event.d/
in there you will find tty1-6 files.
just delete the ttys you dont want.

well test it out first.
I have not had time to test it myself.

:D
Image
Now where was i going? Oh yes, crazy!
User avatar
Boo
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2364
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:48 am

Postby amin on Tue May 08, 2007 10:22 pm

Boo wrote: /etc/event.d/
in there you will find tty1-6 files.
just delete the ttys you dont want.

:D


IT works. Instead of deleting the files, I rename the files:

This is what I did guys:
# cd /etc/event.d
# mv tty4 tty4.bak
# mv tty5 tty5.bak
# mv tty6 tty6.bak
# reboot

Now press ctrl-alt-F1, you will get terminal #1
press ctrl-alt-F2, you get terminal #2
press ctrl-alt-F3, F4, F5, F6, no more terminal
press ctrl-alt-F7, get back to gui

Thanks Boo
amin
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon May 07, 2007 2:20 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests