install problem - jump to login screen

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

install problem - jump to login screen

Postby Skeith on Tue May 19, 2009 7:39 pm

hi, i'm skeith
i am new on linux
i have tried ubuntu and pclos
now i want to try linux mint
however when i try to install it - at step 2 (choosing the time zone)
suddenly i was taken to the login screen.
what's wrong with it?
FYI
I choose the compatibility mode when booting
i am installing on a Sun VirtualBox with 256MB RAM and 8GB HDD
and using alcohol 120% to mount the ISO

vbox-linuxmint.JPG
the login screen
vbox-linuxmint.JPG (125.61 KiB) Viewed 355 times
Skeith
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 7:16 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: install problem - jump to login screen

Postby grimdestripador on Wed May 20, 2009 1:03 am

Seems like everything is done correctly.
Tell me, upon boot, have you ran md5sum on your /dev/cdrom or on the ISO itself.
Why do you mount with alcohol 120% when Virtual Box has the ability to mount CD roms straight from the ISO.
KDE might need a bit more than 256 megs ram, expecially since no SWAP is defined.
User avatar
grimdestripador
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1069
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 2:26 am

Re: install problem - jump to login screen

Postby Skeith on Wed May 20, 2009 1:53 am

grimdestripador wrote:Seems like everything is done correctly.
Tell me, upon boot, have you ran md5sum on your /dev/cdrom or on the ISO itself.
Why do you mount with alcohol 120% when Virtual Box has the ability to mount CD roms straight from the ISO.
KDE might need a bit more than 256 megs ram, expecially since no SWAP is defined.



uh oh
i did not do the md5sum - how do i do it?
i choose alcohol because whenever i try to use the virtualbox mounting ability
with the ISO file on hardisk, the display become weird - look like the display zoomed so that you can see pixels
but if i mount the ISO that is located on the DVD - it's a PC magazine DVD - the problem is the same like my earlier post
but with slower performance, since i only got basic dvd-rom

well my laptop RAM is 1024MB
on stand by over 250 are used
if i increase the RAM amount for Virtualbox, i will get a warning that virtual box cannot continue due to low memory

i'd love to replace my winXP with linux
but i'm still finding which linux fit my needs
Skeith
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 7:16 pm

Re: install problem - jump to login screen

Postby grimdestripador on Fri May 22, 2009 12:52 am

I'd go with the warning ignoring the warning, and setting it to 512 megs, and just make sure not to run benchmarks or 50 tabs of firefox sessions
User avatar
grimdestripador
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1069
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 2:26 am


Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests