Can Uck be used to customize Mint?

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Can Uck be used to customize Mint?

Postby NexusHumanis on Sat Jun 13, 2009 5:26 pm

Well....the thread title pretty much says it, huh?
Just wondering. Mint is an Ubuntu derivative, after all. :-)
:
NexusHumanis
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 3:42 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Can Uck be used to customize Mint?

Postby emorrp1 on Sat Jun 13, 2009 5:37 pm

according to viewtopic.php?f=90&t=8400&p=52081 it should be able to. So long as you're not after anything too complicated, I guess it should work, but in some cases it might assume some components that ubuntu has that mint drops. If you encounter any problems, post them here and hopefully we'll be able to solve them.
If you have a question that has been answered and solved, then please edit your original post and put a [SOLVED] at the end of your subject header
Hint - use a google search including the search term site:forums.linuxmint.com
emorrp1
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2322
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2009 8:58 pm

Re: Can Uck be used to customize Mint?

Postby NexusHumanis on Thu Jun 18, 2009 12:32 pm

Well, now I have tried, and yes, Uck can be used to customize Mint. I have customized, put the resulting Iso on a usb-stick, and installed to harddisk from it. Absolutely wonderful!! Installing from a usb-stick takes less than a quarter of an hour. (I did not time it, it might even be less than 10...)
:
NexusHumanis
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 3:42 pm

Re: Can Uck be used to customize Mint?

Postby joetest on Tue Oct 05, 2010 12:33 pm

Hi - I just tried w/

linuxmint-9-lxde-cd-i386.iso

I am running that on my laptop as well. I installed uck and ran uck-gui and all looked great til after the package management section:

/home/joe/tmp/customization-scripts/customize_iso: line 80: cd: /home/joe/tmp/remaster-iso/dists: No such file or directory
Unable to identify Ubuntu distro codename

Im guessing it saw Isadora instead of Lucid?

Any way to work around this?

Do I just open up the command line after package management and manually put an Ubuntu codename where the Linux Mint one was?

Thanks very much!
joetest
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2010 12:27 pm


Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests