GRUB/Install Problem

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

GRUB/Install Problem

Postby Georgie-o on Sun Dec 10, 2006 10:06 pm

I tried to install both 2.0 and Bea on a harddrive by itself (erase entire drive) and after four tries I keep getting the same error. When it says to restart and end the Live session and then reboots, it gets an "Error 18" when it first says "loading GRUB". Is this a poblem with the distro, or me?

Thanks
Georgio-o
User avatar
Georgie-o
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2006 1:54 am
Location: Michigan, USA

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby Fragadelic on Sun Dec 10, 2006 10:09 pm

What kind of drive are you trying to install it on? PATA or SATA

Where are you letting it install grub to? MBR(hd0) or Partition (hd0,0,etc)
User avatar
Fragadelic
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 469
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 11:05 am
Location: Canada

Postby Fragadelic on Sun Dec 10, 2006 10:11 pm

Also, what motherboard and bios revision is it?

How big is the drive?

Error 18 means it is larger than the bios supports typically.
User avatar
Fragadelic
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 469
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 11:05 am
Location: Canada

Postby Georgie-o on Sun Dec 10, 2006 10:17 pm

It's just a plain IDE (?, I know it's not a SATA). Yes, I think that it is installing grub in hd0. That's what it says in the summary right before installing. Should I change that to something else? If so, what and where? It's a DELL, P3 Optiplex (Micro ATX?), 40G hard drive. I'm certain it should support that size as I just had Ubuntu 6.06 with a 250G in the computer and it worked fine.
Thanks
User avatar
Georgie-o
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2006 1:54 am
Location: Michigan, USA

Postby Fragadelic on Sun Dec 10, 2006 10:25 pm

Is the bios set to automatically recognize the drive? If it is, try setting it manually and then reinstall Mint.
User avatar
Fragadelic
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 469
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 11:05 am
Location: Canada

Postby Georgie-o on Sun Dec 10, 2006 10:40 pm

That did it. I did not even have to reinstall. I had messed around with the jumpers and the BIOS with this new drive I installed because I couldn't get it to "see" it. When I put it back to "auto", poof, it worked. Your the man, thanks for the help.

Georgie-o
User avatar
Georgie-o
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2006 1:54 am
Location: Michigan, USA

Postby Fragadelic on Mon Dec 11, 2006 1:18 am

Glad you got it working.

Linux itself is more versatile than many motherboard bios' and grub/lilo which is why it let you partition and install but grub/lilo require the bios to properly report it.
User avatar
Fragadelic
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 469
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 11:05 am
Location: Canada

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests