LinuxMint7 won't run at all [SOLVED]

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

LinuxMint7 won't run at all [SOLVED]

Postby ant16 on Sun Jun 14, 2009 4:44 pm

Hello everybody,

I'm from Poland so my English (US/GBr) is not as good as I wish.

I have a problem with newest version of Mint. I downloaded .iso file lately. Burned it on a CD. And I can't "get in" ;)
I tried normal mode, compatibility (feels like I messed up letters ;) )... as a result... black screen.
In normal mode as I wrote "black screen" after hmmm... progress bar (correct name?)
and in compatibility mode I got some weird stuff on top of the screen (pink...green... maze with a linux mint logo x4 but hardly visible)
I left it for above half an hour today but nothing more happend :/
I thought it could be a disc... but no. I runed it at laptop and worked.

My pc conf:
P4 2,4 GHz
1,5 GB RAM
250 GB HDD Samsung
radeon x1650pro 512mb
ViewSonic va1903wb 19" wide

I know it's old... but other distros works fine... and it's my first time ever LiveCD dosen't work :C

I tried even installing Mint under Windows (from iso mounted) and after that it went to a screen (black or with mint logo) and mouse cursor is there... but won't budge :/

I used all way "around" i could imagine... tried all "noapic, nolapic, noacpi, acpi=off, irqpoll etc...." it still does not work :/

Please help me run LM ^^'


P.S. If something is writen wrong or unclear ... ask ... I'll try and use a dictionary next time ;)
Last edited by ant16 on Thu Jun 18, 2009 11:27 am, edited 1 time in total.
ant16
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2009 4:25 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: LinuxMint7 won't run at all

Postby ii Candor ii on Mon Jun 15, 2009 2:11 am

So can you run it as a Live CD?
Also I'm assuming you're choosing a different language than English. Try installing as English and see if it's usable.
Honestly I've noticed some bugs in Mint 7 (or rather Ubuntu 9.10), so I'm running LM 6. Have you tried installing LM6?
ii Candor ii
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 5:57 pm

Re: LinuxMint7 won't run at all

Postby trident on Mon Jun 15, 2009 5:37 am

Do you perhaps have a PCI network card? I had a problem with similar symptoms, plus flashing LEDs on my keyboard after the lockup. After changing just about everything I could think of, I finally realised that it was my wireless card causing this, and booting without it worked fine. Just a thought.
User avatar
trident
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 3:15 pm

Re: LinuxMint7 won't run at all

Postby ant16 on Mon Jun 15, 2009 11:17 am

No. It won't run as LiveCD or installed.

I don't have network card in PCI slot. Integrated in mainboard >> Gigabyte GA-8PE667 Ultra
but... does Wi-Fi counts? :> --EDIT-- I AM LAME... You wrote "wireless"... xD I'll try that... but I need Wi-Fi... so lame... --EDIT--
in PCI I have also tv tuner... but as I could see while loading LM it found drivers for that.

--EDIT--

I tried just now LM6 and... it's very same as in LM7... won't run. And goes to the black screen with cursor that won't move... :/
ant16
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2009 4:25 pm

Re: LinuxMint7 won't run at all

Postby trident on Mon Jun 15, 2009 4:56 pm

Have you tried booting without the wifi card? That solved the problem for me, then once I had a working system I used "Windows Wireless Drivers" to install the driver, turned off and plugged the card back in, then turned the computer back on again and had working wifi!
User avatar
trident
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 3:15 pm

Re: LinuxMint7 won't run at all

Postby rivenathos on Mon Jun 15, 2009 7:58 pm

In addition to "compatibility mode," have you tried to press the tab key and enter a new boot parameter? I have had to use both "compatibility mode" and vga=791 in the boot parameter. Once I did that, everything worked just fine. It is worth trying. Good luck.

Some codes for standard screens:
vga=788 for 800x600
vga=791 for 1024x768
vga=794 for 1280x1024
vga=797 for 1600x1200
Debian 7 with GNOME 64-bit
User avatar
rivenathos
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1066
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 7:32 am
Location: USA

Re: LinuxMint7 won't run at all

Postby ant16 on Tue Jun 16, 2009 12:02 pm

ad.1.
In few minutes I'll try and start it without Wi-Fi. And see what results will be ;)

--EDIT--
You were right! Thanks so much! :) It's all my Pentagram Wi-Fi internal card ;]

ad.2.
Yes, I have tried some paremeters vga=... but none have helped.


Thanks for trying to help me folks ^^

--EDIT--
SOLVED ^^
ant16
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2009 4:25 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: qbektrix and 7 guests