Live-CD Cassandra 256mb trick

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Live-CD Cassandra 256mb trick

Postby D1Wayne on Mon May 28, 2007 4:56 am

Test on Dell 8100 1.3ghz Geforce2 mx400 Dell m990 19" crt
also same machine with a gigabyte Radeaon 9550 128mb

1 - start in safe graphics mode
2 - be really patient
3 - Administration->Gnome Partition Editor (could take 20mins)
4 - Create a swap partition I dreated a 2gb partition
5 - Re-boot Live-CD using safe graphics mode again
6 - be patient
7 - start the installer
8 - do not play with a single thing until after install and re-boot

machine after install and updates has usable speed
much faster than feisty with 169mb on a 500mhz iMac g3 :twisted:

Beryl with MX400 nax res is 1024x800
Beryl not working on Radeon 9550 (faster)
D1Wayne
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 198
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2007 6:11 am
Location: Pacific North West

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby desertViking on Fri Jun 01, 2007 10:46 am

This looks like a good idea.
I also installed Cassandra on a Thinkpad T22 with 256MB of memory. I simply changed the size of the RAM disk from the more than 1GB requested to 230MB. My swap disk is about 500MB ( this was pre configured). Accessing the boot options means pressing F6 from the boot splash screen and modifying the grub command.
Without changing the size of the RAM, it was *painful* to try and run the installer. With the change, the system was quite responsive the whole time and Cassandra was completely installed in about 15-20 minutes.
BTW, once installed 256MB seems quite reasonable for your basic LinuxMint gnome desktop.
desertViking
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 1:48 pm

Postby earlyapriladam on Tue Jun 26, 2007 2:05 am

Thanks to both of you! I had a question about installing Cassandra on a computer I had lying around with 256MB of RAM and you saved me from starting a new post. I have another question about the "RAM disk", I don't know much about that stuff. So you just press F6 buring booting to change this option? If not, then how? I want the installation to go as smoothly as possible...
earlyapriladam
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 1:37 am

Postby scorp123 on Tue Jun 26, 2007 5:23 am

earlyapriladam wrote: So you just press F6 buring booting to change this option?
Before booting .... when the GRUB boot screen of the Installation CD shows up. It's even indicated on the screen: F6: Other Options .... :wink:
User avatar
scorp123
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2287
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: Switzerland


Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: BenTrabetere, konrad and 17 guests