problem installing Cassandra

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

problem installing Cassandra

Postby Standov on Fri Jun 01, 2007 6:36 am

Hi all,
I only just my hands on Cassandra (release) today and trying to install it, but it doesn't even get to the live X session. I have some photos of the display but don't know how to post them.

Basically, the install says 'screen(s) found, but none have a usable configuration'
'Fatal error'
'no screens found'

I have gone through something that was posted in the wiki on http://www.linuxmint.com/wiki/index.php ... ts_drivers

I have a Dell Inspiron 6400 with the ATI X1400 video card. It has a wide screen display and the xorg.conf doesn't seem to have any wide screen options. I have gone through and edited the xorg.conf to include some wide screen options but no matter what I do with the xorg or the boot menu on the CD, I still end up with the same error.

Thanks in advance.[/url]
User avatar
Standov
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu May 03, 2007 9:28 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby Boo on Fri Jun 01, 2007 8:02 am

looks like a video driver issue.

have you tried booting in the safe graphics mode? second option down.

once installed you should run envy (under system tools) to install proper ati drivers.

:D
Image
Now where was i going? Oh yes, crazy!
User avatar
Boo
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2364
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:48 am

Postby D1Wayne on Fri Jun 01, 2007 8:08 am

Standov wrote:
'no screens found'


assuming this is the live-cd boot
a couple of thoughts hopefully either option 1 or 2 will do it for you

Option 1) when given the boot options
click on
Code: Select all
F4 vga
Select a resolution you know your machine likes

boot

if problem still exists
Code: Select all
ctl-alt-Delete
to re-boot

Option 2) This time try using
Boot Option
Code: Select all
Safe Graphic mode


If it still fails

Option 3) at the cmdline type in
Code: Select all
sudo /etc/X11/rm xorg,conf
sudo gdm


if it informs you gdm is aborting
type
Code: Select all
sudo gdm

again
D1Wayne
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 198
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2007 6:11 am
Location: Pacific North West

Postby Standov on Fri Jun 01, 2007 8:40 am

I have tried to install via the safe modes and F4 selecting 640x400 option and the wiki install link. I shall try the other things D1Wayne has suggested tomorrow.
Bianca installed with no problems but I broke it a short while later, before I found the 'Do not install the Ubuntu 7.04' posting by Clem.

So Bianca works, but no Cassandra.

This is all from the live CD just trying to boot X from booting from the CD. I was planning to format over B with C's install procedure.

see you tomorrow
User avatar
Standov
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu May 03, 2007 9:28 pm

Postby D1Wayne on Fri Jun 01, 2007 11:17 am

I think I've spotted your bug

and Option 3) may not solve problem

so we go straight to
Option 4)

Code: Select all
Boot using safe Graphics mode
## type in the following
sudo su
cd /etc/X11
nano xorg.conf
## arrow down untill you see
## "Section Monitor"
## Key-in on seperate lines (before this sections EndSection)
   HorizSync 36-52
   VertRefresh 36-60
##  keystroke Ctlrl->o     (write file)
##  keystroke <enter>     (keep same name)
##  Keystroke Ctrl-->x      (exit nano)
Type in
GDM                                  (if aborts do this again)



https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/xorg-server/+bug/89853

Basically it appears they've (Feisty group since herd 5 and Fedora also) found a bug which appears to be in xorg 7.2, several vendors, I suspect a few Nvidia chipsets as well (mine for example) changed their vendor strings in the cards, adding a comma here a period there, so breaking vesa (nvidia as well as ATI :shock: :shock: :shock:
D1Wayne
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 198
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2007 6:11 am
Location: Pacific North West

Postby Standov on Fri Jun 01, 2007 8:16 pm

Hi D1Wayne, I tried your last option and ended up with an error 11 and it still says vsync out of range 36.0-60.0hz, and then it says something like trying other refresh rates, thats when I get the error 11.

This so annoying, it can't be the cd because it was running fine on a tablet pc at work, we played with Beryls' settings for some of the afternoon.

If I can't get this to work, I might have to resolve to reinstalling Bianca and doing the wiki update, but I would prefer not to. :?

Any more ideas D1Wayne? or anyone else?
User avatar
Standov
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu May 03, 2007 9:28 pm

Postby D1Wayne on Fri Jun 01, 2007 9:46 pm

one more try
Boot using safe Graphics mode
## type in the following
sudo su
envy -t
D1Wayne
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 198
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2007 6:11 am
Location: Pacific North West

Postby Standov on Sat Jun 02, 2007 8:46 pm

D1Wayne,
You are truly great in your knowledge of linux. I now type this up on a fully installed version of Cassandra.

I had to do the driver install for the live CD, and after the install before it went to my first x session it failed the video setup again. I just logged in under command line and did the envy thing again and rebooted and it is now working.

Now I have to find out why I can't run my display at 1280x800 like I could with Bianca and windoz.

Any ideas before I call this fixed?
User avatar
Standov
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu May 03, 2007 9:28 pm

Postby D1Wayne on Sun Jun 03, 2007 1:27 am

Standov
wrote-
Now I have to find out why I can't run my display at 1280x800 like I could with Bianca and windoz


could you pls post your xorg.conf file
## make a backup copy just in case of accidents

Code: Select all
sudo cp /etc/X11/xorg.conf mybu.conf
gksu gedit /etc/X11/xorg.conf


when the editor pops up
click anywhere on the contents of the file
then Ctrl-a (select all)
then Ctrl-c (copy all)
then Ctrl-v (paste into post)
D1Wayne
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 198
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2007 6:11 am
Location: Pacific North West

Problem installing Cassandra - Fixed

Postby Standov on Sun Jun 03, 2007 1:41 am

I had just got in from shopping with my girlfriend and it came to me, why not edit the xorg.conf and include the resolution in to the list. After a reboot it loaded up ok with 1280x800. I then went to post this message and saw your reply D1Wayne. It's all fixed now.

Thanks D1Wayne I don't think I could have fixed the original problem without you. Some of the Ubuntu forums were saying you had to install some stuff from .deb files, and it made mention it was not really for the noob to do, but the envy thing worked great.

I wonder why B worked with no problems with envy on wide screen format and C doesn't. but anyway doesn't matter.

I like Mint, a few months I tried a few distro's and didn't like much of what I saw, but liked Ubuntu the most (apart from the desktop), then I found Mint, and boy that was refreshing.
User avatar
Standov
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu May 03, 2007 9:28 pm

Postby D1Wayne on Sun Jun 03, 2007 2:43 am

Good going :D
D1Wayne
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 198
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2007 6:11 am
Location: Pacific North West

Postby amin on Mon Jun 04, 2007 11:13 am

I have an ATI card too; but did differently:

1. edit /etc/X11/xorg.conf
remove all resolution except 640x480 (this is a MUST in my Toshiba)

2. set HorizSync 36-52
set VertRefresh 36-60
as explained above

3. startx

voila it works.
amin
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon May 07, 2007 2:20 am

Display Error

Postby andone on Fri Jun 08, 2007 5:25 am

There are many ways to get around the display error problem but doesn't this negate the purpose of a liveCD.
The first test releases of Unbuntu 7.04 didn't have this issue but somehow it appeared in the final release.
It seems that this problem is going to continue because the next test release of Ubuntu 7.10 is also doing this.
Otherwise I really like LinuxMint 3.0, great art work, great out of the box support just a shame about the problem above.
andone
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 5:10 am

Postby Husse on Fri Jun 08, 2007 8:09 am

Welcome to Mint andone
I have to agree, most things work really well in Mint but the "resolution problem" could be called a shame :evil:
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 25 guests