SOLVED: Live Disk Boot Issue with Desktop PC

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Postby chilly on Sat Aug 15, 2009 4:37 pm

Hello from a newbie

I downloaded Mint 7 Gloria, did MD5 check, burned slow and cannot run it on my desktop PC.

Disk works fine in my Acer laptop.

Regardless of what choice I make in the Welcome to Linux Mint Gloria 7 screen (start linux mint, start LM compatability mode, start installer, check integrity of CD, or memory test) I end up with the following error message:

ata.7:SRSTFailed (errno=-16)

Starting in compatability mode gets me "further" into the process but all roads lead to the above message.

The computer is homebuilt around a Gigabyte AMD board, Athlon 64X2 processor, 4 megs DDR2 ram, 3 SATA drives, 2 Samsung optical drives, Nvidia GeForce 7900 S graphics card. It is 2 1/2 years old and very stable.

Even though I am a relative Linux newbie I have installed and run Ubuntu Hardy Heron and the latest PCLinuxOS version on this computer without any problem.....But I REALLY want to try Mint. It looks awesome on my laptop and runs with full function right off the bat.

Please let me know what further information I can furnish to help with a diagnosis.

I am currently downloading Mint 6 on my laptop and am going to try running that on my desktop.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Michael
Last edited by chilly on Mon Aug 17, 2009 2:00 am, edited 1 time in total.
chilly
Level 1
Level 1

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.

Re: Live Disk Boot Issue with Desktop PC

Postby lagagnon on Sat Aug 15, 2009 5:56 pm

chilly wrote:ata.7:SRSTFailed (errno=-16)

That is a hardware fault error. I doubt it has anything to do with the Mint CD. Have you tried the other optical drive? ave you double checked the jumpers on the two optcial drives? Read this: https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+sour ... bug/220706
lagagnon
Level 7
Level 7

Postby chilly on Sat Aug 15, 2009 6:17 pm