wake up Cassandra

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

wake up Cassandra

Postby ernst on Thu Jun 14, 2007 4:08 am

Hello Linux users,

Today i wake up, drink my coffee ..want to start up Linuxmint and see the news on internet

BUT

It is hanging??? first it runs ..and than i always see my logging name and than type password ..but it is not asking for it because it hangs??

Some one idea how to fix it?
ernst
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 9:32 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby Husse on Thu Jun 14, 2007 4:38 am

Would you please repeat your post in english
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby ernst on Thu Jun 14, 2007 4:49 am

Husse wrote:Would you please repeat your post in english


:roll:


This morning i want to start up my computer but it is not starting up? The software is not running?

It was running well with Cassandra Linuxmint 3.0

It starts up, I see the logo of Linuxmint ..and than not going on, it stops running the process.

Hope to have a rescue
ernst
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 9:32 am

Postby Husse on Thu Jun 14, 2007 6:17 am

OK. start in rescue mode so you see what's going on.
Then tell us where it stops. It should stop at a TTY root@your_computer_name
If it does leave it with the command "exit"
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby ernst on Thu Jun 14, 2007 10:35 am

Husse wrote:OK. start in rescue mode so you see what's going on.
Then tell us where it stops. It should stop at a TTY root@your_computer_name
If it does leave it with the command "exit"


Thank Husse try to help :wink:

I can do that in rescue mode and did leave it with exit! but not continue the process ..still see the runner and software stopped.

modeprobe: warning: not laoding blacklist le ipv6

I see this when I start the power butun and not using rescue mode.

1. Grub loading
2. Mint from freedom came elegance ------------------------ oké
3. mouse walker ....walks but walks and walks and not continue

This is my PC

Lian Li PC-V880A
iGreen Power 500W Retail, 2x PCIe
P5B Premium Vista Intel® P965
De Intel® Core™ 2 Duo E4300 CPU
Zalman cooling CNPS9500 LED Retail
OCZ memory 2 x 512GB DDR2-800 Kit XTC Gold GX, OCZ2G8001GK
Harddisk 320GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 Bulk, ST3320620AS, NCQ
MSI NX8600 GTS Retail, TV-Out, 2x DVI
Sound card Creative X-Fi Extreme Audio OEM
Samsung DVD/CD SH-S182M 18/8x, 8/-x(DL) speed
LG 32 inch 32LC41
Logitech Cordless Desktop EX110
Software Linuxmint 3.0 Cassandra

Hope there is a rescue
ernst
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 9:32 am

Postby Husse on Thu Jun 14, 2007 1:37 pm

Ok this means that x does not start
Boot into rescue mode and at the TTY prompt run this command

dpkg-reconfigure -phigh xserver-xorg

You may also have to reinstall your video driver (envy is there to help you with that)
not loading blacklisted module ipv6
That's supposed to happen
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby ernst on Thu Jun 14, 2007 2:22 pm

Husse wrote:Ok this means that x does not start
Boot into rescue mode and at the TTY prompt run this command

dpkg-reconfigure -phigh xserver-xorg

You may also have to reinstall your video driver (envy is there to help you with that)
not loading blacklisted module ipv6
That's supposed to happen


oké :arrow: thank you >> I will ask envry to help me out.

ps I did follow you instructions, I can change the resolution and I did lower it.
But no succes so far to start fully Cassandra

I do have warning not laoding blacklisted module ipv6 and will ask envry

thanks

(building multy media pc for clients windows media software but want to give alternative software linuxmint as well

It runs good for 1 week but in my position not stabel yet, well we can figger it out. LETS GET IT WORKED AGAIN it was really fun using Linuxmint
ernst
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 9:32 am

Postby ernst on Thu Jun 14, 2007 3:17 pm

Husse wrote:Ok this means that x does not start
Boot into rescue mode and at the TTY prompt run this command

dpkg-reconfigure -phigh xserver-xorg

You may also have to reinstall your video driver (envy is there to help you with that)
not loading blacklisted module ipv6
That's supposed to happen


:shock: :D :idea: :D :D
aahhh ha envy is a program for nvidia sorry man I thought envy was a nickname :wink:

how to use envy because i can not all true the end staring up linuxmint?

linuxmint is/was working great ...play dvd movie etc.
I was succesful to connect my camera with usb (there was a problem in 45-libgphoto2_rules)

but this problem already happens and really do not want to install again with cd, i want to fix the bug :wink:
ernst
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 9:32 am

Postby Husse on Thu Jun 14, 2007 5:22 pm

Do this:
Boot into rescue mode and at the TTY prompt run this command

dpkg-reconfigure -phigh xserver-xorg

If that does not help
Boot into rescue mode and at the TTY prompt run this command
envy

I get the impression that your native language is german, and if so you could post in the german language subforum and I will help you there instead (or in a nordic language subforum if that's better :))
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby ernst on Thu Jun 14, 2007 6:19 pm

Husse wrote:Do this:
Boot into rescue mode and at the TTY prompt run this command

dpkg-reconfigure -phigh xserver-xorg

If that does not help
Boot into rescue mode and at the TTY prompt run this command
envy

I get the impression that your native language is german, and if so you could post in the german language subforum and I will help you there instead (or in a nordic language subforum if that's better :))


ooh yha :oops: my neighbours are german, i'm from the netherlands (holland) we always make fun about our neighbours but i'm sure they do the same :D

where was I? ah run this command envy >> it does not recognize command envy? do i have to type some extra"s

sorry for my language ..but i can write indonesian hé hé hé but really a dutch man :D
ernst
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 9:32 am

Postby Husse on Fri Jun 15, 2007 6:25 am

No - I don't understand dutch that well :)
It may be may error - try envy -t
I did not anticipate the need for that switch in a TTY but it is perhaps necessary
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby ernst on Sun Jun 17, 2007 7:13 pm

Husse wrote:No - I don't understand dutch that well :)
It may be may error - try envy -t
I did not anticipate the need for that switch in a TTY but it is perhaps necessary


great, i will try the envy -t when i'm back from Washington DC next week i pick it up again ...hope we can work it out ..and not have to installete again ..

keep in touch

ernst
ernst
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 9:32 am

Postby ernst on Sat Jun 23, 2007 12:29 pm

Husse wrote:No - I don't understand dutch that well :)
It may be may error - try envy -t
I did not anticipate the need for that switch in a TTY but it is perhaps necessary


Hi Husse,

I'm back home now and I did try your advise.
Yes envy -t is a succesful command to reinstall a nVidia driver but the MSI NX8600 GTS was not there to sellect.
I did try a older driver but no succes.
What can we do?
:shock:
ernst
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 9:32 am

Postby Husse on Sat Jun 23, 2007 3:48 pm

Envy should automatically select the right driver for your card which is a new card. If you can't get it to install you may have to go to nvidia's home page.
You still can't get to the desktop?
If so we have to apply the appropriate section of the how to for the live cd
http://www.linuxmint.com/wiki/index.php ... ur_Live_CD
Try the following (if you succeeded to bot in rescue mode)
nano /etc/X11/xorg.conf Note: there has to be a space between chroot and /root and also spaces between /root and nano as well as between nano and /etc. Please note that the X in X11 must be a major X

This will let you edit your graphics configuration file. Using the arrow keys scroll down to the heading called "Device". Under this it should have "Driver" to the left and beside it the driver in inverted commas, like so: Section "Device"

Identifier "NVIDIA Corporation NV43 [GeForce 6600 GT]"
Driver "nv"

EndSection

It's the same for ATI as for nVidia, only when it is an ATI card the Driver is (probably) "ati". For some reason these drivers are always loaded and never work for a lot of cards. Change whatever is identified as driver to "vesa" (only one set of quotes) Once you've done this press Ctrl+x then y then enter to exit the text editor

This will bring you back to the command line, simply type:

exit
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby ernst on Sat Jun 23, 2007 4:18 pm

Husse wrote:Envy should automatically select the right driver for your card which is a new card. If you can't get it to install you may have to go to nvidia's home page.
You still can't get to the desktop?
If so we have to apply the appropriate section of the how to for the live cd
http://www.linuxmint.com/wiki/index.php ... ur_Live_CD
Try the following (if you succeeded to bot in rescue mode)
nano /etc/X11/xorg.conf Note: there has to be a space between chroot and /root and also spaces between /root and nano as well as between nano and /etc. Please note that the X in X11 must be a major X

This will let you edit your graphics configuration file. Using the arrow keys scroll down to the heading called "Device". Under this it should have "Driver" to the left and beside it the driver in inverted commas, like so: Section "Device"

Identifier "NVIDIA Corporation NV43 [GeForce 6600 GT]"
Driver "nv"

EndSection

It's the same for ATI as for nVidia, only when it is an ATI card the Driver is (probably) "ati". For some reason these drivers are always loaded and never work for a lot of cards. Change whatever is identified as driver to "vesa" (only one set of quotes) Once you've done this press Ctrl+x then y then enter to exit the text editor

This will bring you back to the command line, simply type:

exit


Hi Husse,

I decided to reinstall all, I know it will be stabel for a week before get in trouble again.

In that time I like to download and install >>
Nvidia-linux-x86-100.14.06-pkg1.run from the http://www.nvidia.in/object/linux_displ ... 06_in.html

do you know where I have to save that new nvidia file and what is the best way to install that new driver?

Thanks
ernst
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 9:32 am

Postby Husse on Sat Jun 23, 2007 5:35 pm

Save ti wherever you want - a new folder on the desktop?
But
pkg1.run

This is not a deb package and you have to learn about installing this kind of file...
I would recommend envy (from the menu in Cassandra)
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby ernst on Sat Jun 23, 2007 6:33 pm

Husse wrote:Save ti wherever you want - a new folder on the desktop?
But
pkg1.run

This is not a deb package and you have to learn about installing this kind of file...
I would recommend envy (from the menu in Cassandra)


Finaly succesful after reinstall and than direct use Envy to update the driver:D

You also have to after restart install linux-restricted-modules-2.6.20-16-generic

Husse, I think the driver on the nvidia is correct because i have found pkg1.run in the map usr/share/envy/nvidea-grapphics-drivers

on the ubuntu website i have found also some instructions but i didn't need it because envy did work!!! >> http://forum.ubuntu-nl.org/message/114509

have a nice day Husse, i will enjoy my linuxmint again :wink:
ernst
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 9:32 am

Postby Husse on Sun Jun 24, 2007 6:41 am

The driver may be correct - envy can run a .run :) automatically. If you want do it manually it involves some learning
Enjoy Cassandra!
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Fering Dring, Lebowski and 20 guests