How to choose Windows at Grub loader

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

How to choose Windows at Grub loader

Postby Vinny_Can on Tue Sep 08, 2009 11:22 am

Hello there. Newbie here. Just install Linux Mint last night on my older Athlon 64 computer with ATI 9600xt. Installed the regular 32 bit version and not the 64bit. Linux works great.

However when my computer boots that GRUB loader shows windows XP on the list but does not let me do anything. It just loads Linux automatically. Can I not choose to boot Windows XP in lieu of Linux at startup?
Vinny_Can
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2009 11:14 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: How to choose Windows at Grub loader

Postby markcynt on Tue Sep 08, 2009 12:09 pm

Did you try using the arrow keys to move down to the Windows entry?
Image
P5N-E SLI, Core2Duo E6850 3GHZ X 2
2 GB DDR2 800MHZ
EVGA 8800GTS 320MB
2x320GB Hitachi
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
User avatar
markcynt
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1131
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 10:53 am
Location: Lakeland Florida

Re: How to choose Windows at Grub loader

Postby Vinny_Can on Tue Sep 08, 2009 12:14 pm

Yes and nothing happens. Linux has that spinning circle next to it (similar to windows hourglass) and it gives me about 5 seconds. In that time I can't move anything. It seems like it is automatically loading Linux. Is it possible I set up my partitions wrong?
Vinny_Can
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2009 11:14 am

Re: How to choose Windows at Grub loader

Postby markcynt on Tue Sep 08, 2009 12:33 pm

Sounds like your keyboard is not being recognized at the Grub screen. I wouldn't know what to do about that.
Image
P5N-E SLI, Core2Duo E6850 3GHZ X 2
2 GB DDR2 800MHZ
EVGA 8800GTS 320MB
2x320GB Hitachi
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
User avatar
markcynt
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1131
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 10:53 am
Location: Lakeland Florida

Re: How to choose Windows at Grub loader

Postby Vinny_Can on Tue Sep 08, 2009 12:42 pm

It seems like someone else has the same problem on this link http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?p=899307

But no solutions as well. Anyone know how to fix this?
Vinny_Can
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2009 11:14 am

Re: How to choose Windows at Grub loader

Postby Vinny_Can on Tue Sep 08, 2009 1:54 pm

Could it be the Grub boot loader is not detecting my USB keyboard? That aside it seems like the Grub loader is immediately loading Linux due to the spiral-circle loading thing.
Vinny_Can
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2009 11:14 am

Re: How to choose Windows at Grub loader

Postby markcynt on Tue Sep 08, 2009 2:00 pm

markcynt wrote:Sounds like your keyboard is not being recognized at the Grub screen. I wouldn't know what to do about that.
:mrgreen:
Image
P5N-E SLI, Core2Duo E6850 3GHZ X 2
2 GB DDR2 800MHZ
EVGA 8800GTS 320MB
2x320GB Hitachi
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
User avatar
markcynt
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1131
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 10:53 am
Location: Lakeland Florida

Re: How to choose Windows at Grub loader

Postby Vinny_Can on Tue Sep 08, 2009 2:02 pm

So Markcynt, do I just switch to an old-school keyboard then?
Vinny_Can
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2009 11:14 am

Re: How to choose Windows at Grub loader

Postby markcynt on Tue Sep 08, 2009 2:06 pm

I'm really not sure what to do since I'm not sure what could be causing that. First I would try plugging the keyboard into different jacks, then I would try a regular (old-school keyboard), then I would try to reinstall Mint since it's possible the installation went bad.
Image
P5N-E SLI, Core2Duo E6850 3GHZ X 2
2 GB DDR2 800MHZ
EVGA 8800GTS 320MB
2x320GB Hitachi
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
User avatar
markcynt
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1131
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 10:53 am
Location: Lakeland Florida

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bruno529 and 21 guests