Live CD error after botched install of Mint 7

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Agenator

Live CD error after botched install of Mint 7

Post by Agenator »

Hello,

I'm a bit of a newbie to Linux in general but I did use Linux Mint 6 with some regularity and I decided recently to use it again on my desktop PC. Unfortunately I appear to have encountered an odd problem after a borked install of Mint 7.

My computer has two physical HDD's at 80gb apiece, one with Windows Vista and another with Windows 7, which I was seeking to replace with Mint 7. I recently had to transplant these drives into a new machine and while the drives still had data, the booting into either Windows installation was not possible, but this is a different problem.

Anyway, I was trying to install Mint 7 on the old Windows 7 HDD - I selected to format the entire drive and planned to use GRUB instead of the windows bootloader. The installation got to 94%, at the point where it runs the GRUB process and install, but it hung there for about an hour. Having installed Mint 6 in a relatively short amount of time, I decided that this might have been some funky problem, and made the following MISTAKE! - I hit close on the installer and told the livecd to restart, thinking I could just do another install. The result was a stream of errors when trying to load the livecd that look like this:

ata2.01: status: [DRDY ERR}
ata2.01: error [ UNC ]
563.672504] end_request: I/O error, dev sdb, sector 217
and then a number of errors like the preceding line, but with "buffer i/o error on device sdb, logical block (then varying numbers)"