Install hangs at step 4 - scanning disks

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Install hangs at step 4 - scanning disks

Postby shamrock73 on Sat Jun 16, 2007 11:25 pm

I am attempting to install cassandra and am running into an issue. I get to step 4 and the Starting up the partitioner window comes up but stalls at 46% it says it is scanning disks. I ran the checksum on the cd and burned at 4x I have tried 2 drives and get the same result. I was able to install to an older pc from the same cd. Does anyone have any suggestions?
shamrock73
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2007 11:18 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby Husse on Sun Jun 17, 2007 5:46 am

That is seemingly the critical point....
Did you use the same option for partitioning in both cases?
I always recommend burning at the slowest speed possible generally 2x
There are always errors on a CD and they are corrected by ECC code also on the CD. It may simply be that the player in this computer can't cope with that on the present CD
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby shamrock73 on Sun Jun 17, 2007 1:17 pm

Thanks for the reply. I never actually got to the point where I could choose how to partition on the pc that it stalls on it just sits at scanning disks. I'll reburn and see if that changes anything. I have tried on the two drives that are on that pc but the result is the same. One is a Plextor the other a Samsung.
shamrock73
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2007 11:18 pm

Postby Boo on Sun Jun 17, 2007 10:43 pm

how much RAM do you have?
I have found this to be a sticking point when installing onto low RAM (276MB) systems.

The CD boots and you can do stuff but at install you freeze when scanning the disks to load the partition editor. just like you.

:D
Image
Now where was i going? Oh yes, crazy!
User avatar
Boo
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2364
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:48 am

Postby shamrock73 on Mon Jun 18, 2007 1:45 pm

The PC it stalls on has 1 gb of ram, Athlon 2800 processor 1 120 GB Maxtor sata hard drive and one 200 GB Seagate pata hard drive and two optical drives. The sata is handled by a silicon image 3112a controller on the motherboard. I did burn another cd at 4x, I couldn't burn any slower, and it also stops at the same point.
shamrock73
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2007 11:18 pm

Postby Husse on Mon Jun 18, 2007 3:46 pm

This is a bit of along shot - are you trying to install on the SATA drive?
If so could you try the PATA drive?
There has been some issues with SATA....
If you succeed don't upgrade the kernel - you may have the same trouble as with ICH
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby shamrock73 on Mon Jun 18, 2007 3:59 pm

Thanks for the thought but the install never gets to the point at which I can choose. I was actually thinking about attempting the install with the sata drive disconnected and see what happens. I'll post the result either way after I try with no sata.
shamrock73
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2007 11:18 pm

Postby Boo on Tue Jun 19, 2007 12:09 am

what happens if you boot the live CD and run Gparted under administration?

do you see the disks then?

I have another crazy idea that you could use synaptic while live, but the problem is what parts to update without a reboot.

:D
Image
Now where was i going? Oh yes, crazy!
User avatar
Boo
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2364
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:48 am

Postby shamrock73 on Fri Jun 22, 2007 12:01 pm

Well I haven't had time to attempt without the sata drive, but I did try to run gparted. Gparted doesn't run either it just keeps looking for the discs.
shamrock73
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2007 11:18 pm

Postby shamrock73 on Sat Jun 23, 2007 3:56 pm

I got it! It turns out that I had a bad IDE cable that was causing the issue, I replaced it and all was good in my world anyway. thanks to the suggestions & ideas.
shamrock73
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2007 11:18 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests