Root File, fixed, 5.1 speakers and internet connection.

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Root File, fixed, 5.1 speakers and internet connection.

Postby CrazyCanuck90 on Thu Jun 21, 2007 9:40 pm

When I try to install Mint it goes to the partition part of the installation, and I pick the manual option. I put in a root directory, and it doesn't work? I've seen a few articles on it, and I have no idea how to get past it. Help?

I know those 2 new questions shouldnt be in this part of the forum, but I thought I might as well just use the thread I have going.
Last edited by CrazyCanuck90 on Fri Jun 22, 2007 11:29 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
CrazyCanuck90
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2007 9:38 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby Boo on Thu Jun 21, 2007 9:50 pm

first is there any reason for doing a manual partition? eg for a dual boot system.

partitioning:
create one partition 3-4GB in size for mount point /, format ext3.
create one partition 2 x RAM for swap (so 512MB of RAM = 1GB swap).
create one partition using the rest of the disk for /home, format ext3.

continue with install.

:D
Image
Now where was i going? Oh yes, crazy!
User avatar
Boo
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2364
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:48 am

Postby CrazyCanuck90 on Thu Jun 21, 2007 9:55 pm

Boo wrote:first is there any reason for doing a manual partition? eg for a dual boot system.

partitioning:
create one partition 3-4GB in size for mount point /, format ext3.
create one partition 2 x RAM for swap (so 512MB of RAM = 1GB swap).
create one partition using the rest of the disk for /home, format ext3.

continue with install.

:D


Alright so do I do that under the manual part? So while installing I make those 3 partitions, and for the first partition, do I just put / for the mount point? I'm a complete noob at this :D

Also, what should I do if I don't pick manual. I want to keep windows XP on here. The only other option that looks good would be use the biggest section of open harddrive space?
User avatar
CrazyCanuck90
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2007 9:38 pm

Postby Boo on Thu Jun 21, 2007 10:18 pm

haha now we know it is a dual boot. information is good.

the easy way is to choose "use the biggest section of unused hd space", but that will not give you a /home partition, which i consider a must.

if you choose manual you can create the 3 partitions i listed from the free space. leave the xp partition alone.

the first partition put / for the mount point.
the second partition has no mount point because it is swap.(format swap)
the third partition put /home for the mount point.

:D
Image
Now where was i going? Oh yes, crazy!
User avatar
Boo
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2364
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:48 am

Postby CrazyCanuck90 on Thu Jun 21, 2007 10:21 pm

Boo wrote:haha now we know it is a dual boot. information is good.

the easy way is to choose "use the biggest section of unused hd space", but that will not give you a /home partition, which i consider a must.

if you choose manual you can create the 3 partitions i listed from the free space. leave the xp partition alone.

the first partition put / for the mount point.
the second partition has no mount point because it is swap.(format swap)
the third partition put /home for the mount point.

:D


Alright, I will try that tomorrow, have to go to bed soon, exam in the morning, I will post back with results. Thanks a lot :D
User avatar
CrazyCanuck90
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2007 9:38 pm


Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests