Inoperative mouse

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Inoperative mouse

Postby peterj on Sat Jun 23, 2007 6:46 pm

I have been using Bianca for the past 3 months and like it. I read the release notes for Casandra and it looks as though it is even better.
I have downloaded Casandra & run it as a boot CD but it fails to install my mouse. I have tried using a different mouse but that made no difference.
Can someone please tell me the way around this, in very simple terms please, if possible with clear step by step instructions, as I am very much a novice in these matters. Many thanks
peterj
Level 1
Level 1

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.

Postby Husse on Sun Jun 24, 2007 6:07 am

Please tell us what motherboard you have and if you use USB or PS2. It's probably the motherboard, not the mouse as you have tested several mice
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21

Postby peterj on Sun Jun 24, 2007 2:09 pm

Hasse,

If I have read the information correctly from the Device Manager I have an ACER motherboard V3.2 V75EN4C. If it is any help the computer is an old IBM Aptiva with a 450mhz AMD K6-3 processor, and I have 384mb Ram.
peterj
Level 1
Level 1

Postby nick on Sun Jun 24, 2007 2:58 pm

Hi
If you have USB mouse, in that older motherboard, you may have to go into bios and "enable USB ports"

P.S. Husse asked
USB or PS2 mouse

Which are you using? also if you have a PS2/USB adapter, that may cause problems

Nick
nick
Level 5
Level 5

Postby peterj on Sun Jun 24, 2007 3:22 pm

Hi John,
Sorry for only providing part of required info. Mouse is PS2.
peterj
Level 1
Level 1

Postby nick on Sun Jun 24, 2007 3:49 pm

Hi
Does the mouse still work with Bianca as a live CD?, if so that should eliminate mouse.

There is a
Bug in Fiesty with SiS 630 chipsets and PS2 mouse. ( i think you may have this chipset ?)