What is too old for Mint? [SOLVED]

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

What is too old for Mint? [SOLVED]

Postby Totally Infected on Sat Jun 23, 2007 11:38 pm

Hi,

I'd like to install Bianca KDE (Mint 2.2) on an old Pentium III Dell Dimension (c. 2001) I have. It's got only 256 MB of RAM but I have been able to install from the same disc on an old Compaq laptop running a 'slightly' faster PIII with 256MB as well.

I've checked out the troubleshooting - didn't see anything really for me.

The Dell currently has Win 2000 (can't stably handle XP).

Boot shows the Dell splash screen then a blinking cursor. I've tried pretty much all of the Mint versions I have on disc.

Basically I'm looking for a solution or somebody to tell me it's a lost cause.

Thanks
Last edited by Totally Infected on Tue Jun 26, 2007 8:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Totally Infected
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2007 7:40 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby Husse on Sun Jun 24, 2007 6:04 am

256 MB is too little, but it is just about possible to use it
See this:
http://www.linuxmint.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=3447
that I just answered.
Boot shows the Dell splash screen then a blinking cursor.

I don't really understand that - you mean that's what happens if you try to boot with the live CD?
Then there's something wrong with that computer - the CD player or what not.
Check options in BIOS to see if something is odd, and perhaps set the memory at a slower rate (not frequency, but RAS, CAS etc)
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19714
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby Totally Infected on Tue Jun 26, 2007 8:35 pm

Vintage Dell Dimension (2001) now has Bianca KDE <del>running</del> walking on it. :D

It was a combination of bios settings killing it
User avatar
Totally Infected
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2007 7:40 pm

Postby KernelJ on Wed Sep 05, 2007 1:06 am

I ran Linux Mint Bianca on a PII 350MHz and it was pretty alright. 512MB of RAM.
KernelJ
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 2:33 am

Postby Husse on Wed Sep 05, 2007 5:25 am

It's the amount of RAM, not the CPU that is the limiting factor (until you try to use Pentium 90 or something :))
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19714
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby davidwillis on Sat Sep 08, 2007 12:51 am

I am running it on a celeron 400 with 160 Megs of ram. I did have a 500 Meg swap file already made before booting up the live cd though. The xfce version actually does pretty good.
davidwillis
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 11:45 am

Postby Husse on Sat Sep 08, 2007 8:32 am

@ davidwillis
That is the solution - the live CD obviously uses the swap
I think you'd need (without swap) maybe 350 MB to run the live CD and install, but much less to run Mint. My Celena beta 017 uses between approx 140 and 240 MB in "normal" use
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19714
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: nitchmello, sausages1955 and 23 guests