SWAP partition required??

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

SWAP partition required??

Postby mzweili on Tue Jan 05, 2010 9:59 pm

I've got a brand new Laptop HP Pavilion dm3 with Windows 7 64bit pre-installed.
I added Mint Helena Main edition on dual boot. Grub installed on the Linux partition and using Easybcd as boot manager.
I didn't create a swap partition, but everything works fine.
The laptop has 4Gb of RAM.
I wonder if there is a need for a swap partition.
Marc
mzweili
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2009 10:53 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: SWAP partition required??

Postby exploder on Tue Jan 05, 2010 10:17 pm

You do not have to have a swap partition, it's a good idea but with 4 GB of RAM you should be fine as far as normal use goes.
exploder
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5911
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 10:50 am
Location: HartfordCity, Indiana USA

Re: SWAP partition required??

Postby mick55 on Wed Jan 06, 2010 2:43 am

You don't need a swap partition unless you want to use suspend or
hibernate,in which case you need a swap partition at least as large
as the amount of RAM in your machine.
Things are more like they are now than they ever were before.

Dwight D. Eisenhower (1890 - 1969)
User avatar
mick55
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1507
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 2:47 am


Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ccroll and 17 guests