Working with Grub

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Working with Grub

Postby chiefjim on Thu Feb 04, 2010 6:57 pm

Tried to surprise my sister with a replacement hard drive setup with Mint 8. Things didn't turn out as desired.

Installed on a IDE drive connected to a eSATA port. Install went without any concerns and the disc boots perfectly - on my machine. However when connected to hers Grub gets confused. To begin with her BIOS doesn't support USB-HD so I had to connect directly to the IDE ribbon cable. My guess is that the Grub settings are looking for something else connected to SDA1 and SDA2.

Now I'm wondering if there might be a way to create a generic Grub listing such as what a Live-CD would use?
Desktop:
Mint-17 64 bit with Mate
Gigabyte GA-MA785GM-US2H
AMD Athlon II X3 425
CORSAIR 4GB DDR2 800
640GB HDD WD Black 7200rpm

Laptop:
Acer Aspire AS5552-5898
Mint-17 64 bit with Mate
AMD Phenom II Triple-Core N830
4GB Memory DDR3
500GB HDD 5400rpm
chiefjim
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 417
Joined: Sun Jun 07, 2009 7:26 am
Location: South Texas, USA

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Working with Grub

Postby bobcollard on Thu Feb 04, 2010 7:36 pm

chiefjim wrote:Tried to surprise my sister with a replacement hard drive setup with Mint 8. Things didn't turn out as desired.

Installed on a IDE drive connected to a eSATA port. Install went without any concerns and the disc boots perfectly - on my machine. However when connected to hers Grub gets confused. To begin with her BIOS doesn't support USB-HD so I had to connect directly to the IDE ribbon cable. My guess is that the Grub settings are looking for something else connected to SDA1 and SDA2.

Now I'm wondering if there might be a way to create a generic Grub listing such as what a Live-CD would use?

Most likely you are dealing with Grub 2. If so here is a link that may help you:
http://kubuntuforums.net/forums/index.p ... =3106368.0
Robert Collard, Springfield, IL
Dell Inspiron 1545 Laptop, Intel Duo T3400 CPUs @2.16 Ghz. 4GB RAM
Linux Mint Debian Edition, Xfce 4.6.2 Desktop, 2.6.37-0.dmz.6-liquorix-amd64
User avatar
bobcollard
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 717
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 4:44 pm
Location: Springfield, IL

Re: Working with Grub

Postby chiefjim on Thu Feb 04, 2010 8:01 pm

That's way beyond my level to work with.
Desktop:
Mint-17 64 bit with Mate
Gigabyte GA-MA785GM-US2H
AMD Athlon II X3 425
CORSAIR 4GB DDR2 800
640GB HDD WD Black 7200rpm

Laptop:
Acer Aspire AS5552-5898
Mint-17 64 bit with Mate
AMD Phenom II Triple-Core N830
4GB Memory DDR3
500GB HDD 5400rpm
chiefjim
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 417
Joined: Sun Jun 07, 2009 7:26 am
Location: South Texas, USA

Re: Working with Grub

Postby bobcollard on Thu Feb 04, 2010 8:30 pm

chiefjim wrote:That's way beyond my level to work with.

Sorry, it's all I have.
Robert Collard, Springfield, IL
Dell Inspiron 1545 Laptop, Intel Duo T3400 CPUs @2.16 Ghz. 4GB RAM
Linux Mint Debian Edition, Xfce 4.6.2 Desktop, 2.6.37-0.dmz.6-liquorix-amd64
User avatar
bobcollard
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 717
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 4:44 pm
Location: Springfield, IL

Re: Working with Grub

Postby gordon.cooke on Fri Feb 05, 2010 3:25 am

Yes Mint8 is Grub2

However when connected to hers Grub gets confused

What exactly happens? Does the drive just fail to boot, or does the grub menu come up but fails to load Mint?

Installed on a IDE drive connected to a eSATA port.
To begin with her BIOS doesn't support USB-HD so I had to connect directly to the IDE ribbon cable.

The problem could be that when you installed (on your computer) the drive was the second drive on the computer but when you put it in your sisters computer it is being recognized as the first drive. So the drive references in grub.cfg are trying to find a drive that doesnt exist. Without more details-- depending on your setup when you installed, it is possible that when grub was installed to the Master Boot Record, it installed to the MBR on your copmuter's main HD instead of the USB drive. In this case the drive youre swapping to the new computer doesnt have a MBR and wouldnt be able to boot.

Along the same vein, if your sisters computer still has its 1st HD and your putting this new one in as the second, then the MBR on the xisting drive doesnt know anything about the new one- in that case it would boot up the same as it used to without the new second drive.

Depending on what the problem is it can be fixed by re-installing grub to the MBR or adjusting the grub.cfg file. HOWEVER- youd likely need a live CD to make the changes, and given that the whole install only takes about 30 minutes, the easiest solution is probably to install the new drive and then just install Mint 8. Unless you did a whole lot of customizing after the install or there is some other reason that justifies taking the time to fix grub.
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Mint 13 64bit Cinnamon
Asus U56E Laptop, Core i5-2410M, Intel graphics, 6GB RAM
Mint 9 64bit
Averatec 2573 Laptop, AMD Turion 64x2, ATI Graphics, Atheros wireless, 3GB RAM
User avatar
gordon.cooke
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 151
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2009 9:48 pm
Location: New York


Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: niowluka, PatH57 and 20 guests