Mint 8 kernel 2.6.32

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Baerius

Mint 8 kernel 2.6.32

Post by Baerius »

Hello!
I have a Compaq mini 311_1000..
This computer does not boot with kernel 2.6.31, so i can't install linux mint 8 or ubuntu 9.10..(it's a confirmed bug on launchpad..)
I can't wait 3 months for 10.04, so can i create on an other pc a live cd of mint 8 with '32 kernel?
(Or can anyone create one for me? :) )
i'm new to linux's world, so I don't understand complicate commands..please help me! seven is a good OS(i found it preinstalled) but it's too slow on my mini!
oh yes, sorry for my bad english, but i am italian,our english is a..
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
viking777

Re: Mint 8 kernel 2.6.32

Post by viking777 »

The .31 kernel is about the worst I have ever seen - it is doing nothing for the reputation of Linux.
You have two choices - Install Mint 7 instead, which because of the kernel problems is superior to Mint 8 anyway, or if you must have the latest kernels then install Sidux which has 2.6.32.7 and it works extremely well but it is based on Debian Unstable so has a lot of updates every day and works slightly differently to Mint particularly since it doesn't include the option to use Gnome (I would recommend Xfce but then that is because I hate KDE 4 - you might be OK with it).

My advice would be to install both (and if either of them give you the option to install grub 2 then decline it and install grub legacy instead!).

Shoehorning new kernels into old distros is really a job for professionals not for users, I wouldn't even attempt it, you will be wasting your time.
Baerius

Post by Baerius »