lvm2 + grub2 [SOLVED]

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

lvm2 + grub2 [SOLVED]

Postby jens57 on Tue Feb 09, 2010 12:57 pm

Mint "Helena"

Hello, the device map lists all my hard drives /dev/sda to /dev/sdf. grub-install/update-grub don't write sde (Sabayon 5.1, using lvm2) and sdf (Fedora, using lvm2). I tried to copy their grub1 menue list to Mint's grub2 adjusting the syntax. No success. Neither Fedora nor Sabayon boots. Is there any proper solution for the prob?

Thank you
Best regards
Last edited by jens57 on Wed Feb 10, 2010 4:01 am, edited 1 time in total.
jens57
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 12:46 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: lvm2 + grub2

Postby Leppie on Tue Feb 09, 2010 1:13 pm

i don't use lvm myself at the moment, so haven't had the change to check if it works.
have you actually installed the lvm2 package?
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get install lvm2


you can try to add the preload module variable to your grub defaults file. open the file with a text editor:
Code: Select all
gksudo gedit /etc/default/grub

add the followin line at the end of the file:
Code: Select all
GRUB_PRELOAD_MODULES="lvm"

save and exit and run update-grub:
Code: Select all
sudo udpate-grub
Cleanflash: resolve your flash issues the easy way
User avatar
Leppie
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 447
Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2010 8:54 pm

Re: lvm2 + grub2

Postby jens57 on Tue Feb 09, 2010 2:51 pm

Hello!

Bingo! Thank you very much. I'm writing this in Fedora. Well, Mint is better anyway... :D
And Slackware...and Arch...and Debian. :lol:

Cheers
jens57
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 12:46 pm


Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], expat_tony, nomko, windmike and 17 guests