32bit on old machine would like 64bit on new machine

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

32bit on old machine would like 64bit on new machine

Postby azdavef on Wed Feb 10, 2010 9:54 pm

I am currently running 32 bit Helena on a dual boot dual drive machine with 32 bit Windows 7 (my M$ environment is subsidized and maintained by my employer and not having it is not an option). I have just finished building a new box with an i5 chip and 8gb of ram and I would like to migrate my perfectly running 32 bit Helena environment to the new box with Helena 64 bit. I have booted the new box with a live x64 CD and everything appears to work fine out of the box. :D I do have a different nvidia video card in the new box, but the live CD found it and an appropriate driver. When I moved from Gloria to Helena, I did a fresh install and used Synaptic to restore my software and mint backup to restore my settings and data on the same box. Everything was peachy. My question is can I use the same restore features moving from 32 bit to 64 bit on the new machine?
azdavef
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2009 12:39 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: 32bit on old machine would like 64bit on new machine

Postby DataMan on Thu Feb 11, 2010 7:45 am

I also built a new box recently (dual quad - 8G RAM, 1G video RAM). When I went to populate the new box with ops, I installed fresh : Mint 6 64 bit, Mint 7 64 bit and Windows 7 Pro 64 bit. On the Linux side, I was successful re-using my 32 bit /home by copying the key settings that I needed. My advice on this approach is to make backup copies of specific ./ in your new home before copying over the 32 bit ./ .

Good Luck,

-DataMan
Linux'd since 2005 Linux ID 422356 Ubuntu ID 15015
User avatar
DataMan
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1208
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 6:47 am
Location: Carmel, Indiana USA at /var/www

Re: 32bit on old machine would like 64bit on new machine

Postby azdavef on Thu Feb 11, 2010 11:45 am

Thanks, Dataman. Good ideas. I was also concerned about perhaps different repositories and/or dependencies gunking up the new box.
azdavef
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2009 12:39 am

Re: 32bit on old machine would like 64bit on new machine

Postby DataMan on Thu Feb 11, 2010 2:33 pm

I was also concerned about perhaps different repositories and/or dependencies gunking up the new box.


Based on my recent experiences, you shouldn't have a problem as long as you do the fresh 64 bit install(s) on the new box.

-DataMan
Linux'd since 2005 Linux ID 422356 Ubuntu ID 15015
User avatar
DataMan
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1208
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 6:47 am
Location: Carmel, Indiana USA at /var/www

Re: 32bit on old machine would like 64bit on new machine

Postby azdavef on Thu Feb 11, 2010 11:33 pm

I'm going to give a go tomorrow. I saved my home folder docs, pics, music, etc separately from mint backup in case I screw something up and then I'll just take the time to reinstall the apps and fool around with settings. Thanks again DataMan
azdavef
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2009 12:39 am


Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], lostfarmer and 12 guests