Getting Rid of Windows

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
gkrusty

Getting Rid of Windows

Post by gkrusty »

So I installed mint using mint4win and now am ready to get rid of Windows completely. Can I keep my mint4win settings? Do I have to install from scratch using a live cd?

I am fairly new with Linux so any help would be appreciated.

Thanks.
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
Jay514

Re: Getting Rid of Windows

Post by Jay514 »

Welcome To Linux Mint
It is my understanding that mint4win installs the Linux Distro like a program is installed in the windows directory. If you go to uninstall programs in windows,
you should see the install there in the list. So if you wish to ditch Win completely ( which I do not recommend to a new user until they are comfortable enough to use & use well ) this would include the installation of your mint4win application.
I would recommend a dual boot with Win/Linux & that way you can learn Linux Mint & retain your win to fall back on if you feel the need.You could then uninstall the mint4win install from your win directory.
I hope this helps you in your decision,
Jay514 :roll:
gkrusty

Post by gkrusty »

Thanks for the reply. I am trying Mint out on an old laptop and have 3 windows machines to fall back on if my Linux experience doesn't go well. I am sick of Windows and am fairly confident that I will never look back! :D
gkrusty

Post by gkrusty »

There isn't any way to install the full version from the windows add/remove programs list. I am envisioning some way to changing the partitions to remove the windows installation while still keeping my mint as is.

This probably won't work as mint4win doesn't create its own partition.

Any help?
Pierre
Level 21