How to install Mint 9 on MacBook Pro?

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
msm

Post by msm »

Does anyone know how to install Mint 9 on a 2010 MacBook Pro? I tried downloading it and creating a .iso cd, but after I boot from the cd and choose "Try Linux Mint" nothing happens, except a message saying that the -iso image on the cd isn't valid. But it works fine on a pc...

Thanks in advance.
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
TheAndyBob

Re: How to install Mint 9 on MacBook Pro?

Post by TheAndyBob »

(I'm a newbie here at explanations on how to do stuff, but i got it working fine with linux mint 8)
It's possible that the DVD wasn't burned properly. You got the Live CD or DVD correct (There's two options. One for a 64 bit and one for a 32 bit system), if you have the wrong one, it won't work.
To burn the iso properly, open up Disk Utility -> click Burn -> find the iso image to burn -> burn away.
Once it's done, it'll probably eject the disk. Now you have a real working Live CD that you can install linux from.
Now instead of retyping a whole explanation on how to install Linux, here's a link on how to do it: http://www.maclife.com/article/howtos/i ... x_your_mac

My only issue with 9 is choosing the boot loader location. With Linux Mint 8, i had no problem. But for some reason when the option presents itself, i see weird places for the boot loader, and I don't want to choose the wrong one for fear of killing my computers boot :P

Man, I hope that made sense and helps you out :P
Tell me how it works out for yah!
msm

Post by msm »

Many thanks for the detailed reply! Unfortunately it's a well known bug which is causing the issue: https://bugs.launchpad.net/bugs/576601