Upgrade to Celena

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Upgrade to Celena

Postby vinoman on Sun Sep 09, 2007 9:26 am

I'm new to Mint, but I use Ubuntu on my main desktop.

When Celena is out, does Mint give you the option to update to Celena from Cassandra via update manager like Ubuntu does with it's updates?
vinoman
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 516
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2007 8:46 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby Husse on Sun Sep 09, 2007 10:56 am

There will be a way to upgrade with a .mint file (that's at least what I recall) Update manager is abolished in Celena
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby vinoman on Sun Sep 09, 2007 11:14 am

Why would they abolish the update manager? Seems like a nice feature.
vinoman
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 516
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2007 8:46 am

Postby Husse on Mon Sep 10, 2007 7:11 am

I does give some problems in Mint
If you (try to) make a dist-upgrade it will destroy Mint (the message "A new version is available" or something like that)
It also gives other problems as people just update and - bang - a new kernel gives tons of problems.
This will be cared for in another way
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby linuxviolin on Mon Sep 10, 2007 4:36 pm

Husse wrote:There will be a way to upgrade with a .mint file (that's at least what I recall) Update manager is abolished in Celena


Great! But with it we will be able to upgrade Gnome to Gnome or also Gnome to KDE (or KDE to Gnome)? That will be a great achievement because doing a fresh install at every time one wants testing Mint with all its functionalities and another desktop is a little annoying. :D
K.I.S.S. ===> "Keep It Simple, Stupid"
"Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication." (Leonardo da Vinci)
"Everything should be made as simple as possible, but no simpler." (Albert Einstein)
User avatar
linuxviolin
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2055
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2007 6:55 pm
Location: France

Postby Adler on Wed Sep 12, 2007 4:26 pm

Hi All,

I've downloaded the Celena Beta, but think I'll wait and try the up-date path.

I will; however, back everything up just in case. Normally, I'm always for a fresh install, but what the heck. LOL!
Adler

Wildwood, New Jersey -- On The Jersey Shore
What Doesn't Kill Me, Makes Me Stronger - Friedrich Nietzsche - Was mich nicht umbringt, macht mich starker
Adler's Home @ http://www.jjmacey.net/, And Where I Have Been.
Blog @ http://jjmacey.net/blog/
User avatar
Adler
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 367
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2007 9:29 pm
Location: Wilwood, New Jersrey

Postby s2h on Wed Sep 26, 2007 6:55 pm

Not clear from this thread how I upgrade my previous Mint build to this one.

Thanks
s2h
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 12:28 pm

Postby vinoman on Wed Sep 26, 2007 11:33 pm

I did a clean install of Celena, everything was OK except for the screen has a height problem that my Viewsonic VA1912wb can't adjust. So I can't get the screen to fit as it did in Cassandra. It's at 1440x900.

Any clues? or I may have to go back to Cassandra.
vinoman
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 516
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2007 8:46 am

Postby Husse on Thu Sep 27, 2007 11:55 am

@ s2h
Sorry the mintfile update does not happen yet - it has been discussed but not ready in time for Celena
A somewhat tricky instruction is posted here
http://www.linuxmint.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=5490
@ vinoman
I'll get back to you about this problem in your separate post
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby vinoman on Thu Sep 27, 2007 10:15 pm

Husse, in another thread and fellow named Stretch solved my monitor problem. He had me change my xorg.conf file with the line:

Stretch
Level 1
Level 1


Joined: 09 Sep 2007
Posts: 40


PostPosted: Today, at 5:11 pm Post subject: Reply with quote Mark this post and the followings unread
Quote:
Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Videocard0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "metamodes" "1440x900 +0+0; 1280x960 +0+0; 1152x864 +0+0; 1024x768 +0+0; 832x624 +0+0; 800x600 +0+0; 720x400 +0+0; 640x480 +0+0"
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1600x1200" "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
EndSection


"If I were you, I would change this line:

Code:
Modes "1600x1200" "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"

to:

Code:
Modes "1440x900" "1280x960" "1152x864" "1024x768" "832x624" "800x600" "720x400" "640x480"


Please note: you should backup your xorg.conf file first (even though it doesn't work as you want it to). Also it is difficult for me to give the correct resolution as I do not use a widescreen monitor."

I had to add 1440x900 to the modes line and then the monitor was aboe to adjust properly.

Problem Solved :)
vinoman
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 516
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2007 8:46 am

Postby Adler on Thu Sep 27, 2007 11:03 pm

Hi All,

It looks like as usual the best idea is a fresh install.

Now that Celena has gone Gold I do the deed.
Adler

Wildwood, New Jersey -- On The Jersey Shore
What Doesn't Kill Me, Makes Me Stronger - Friedrich Nietzsche - Was mich nicht umbringt, macht mich starker
Adler's Home @ http://www.jjmacey.net/, And Where I Have Been.
Blog @ http://jjmacey.net/blog/
User avatar
Adler
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 367
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2007 9:29 pm
Location: Wilwood, New Jersrey

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 25 guests