dell 1505 install trouble

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

dell 1505 install trouble

Postby ti479 on Mon Sep 10, 2007 8:06 pm

this particular error keeps appearing on most installations that are based or conneted to ubuntu. i would really like to use mint but i am a newbie and i am begining to wonder why i would want to . can anyone please help me? i would really appreciate the help.

Edit by husse// It seems that we are missing at least one post in the beginning of this topic
ti479
Level 1
Level 1

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.

Postby Husse on Tue Sep 11, 2007 5:26 am

Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21

dell 1505

Postby ti479 on Tue Sep 11, 2007 11:22 pm

i would try the solution provided in the wiki-- except that i dont get far enought in the installation to open a terminal.
ti479
Level 1
Level 1

Postby Husse on Wed Sep 12, 2007 5:45 am

Now I'm at a loss. Are you trying to install? Does this error make an install impossible?
That would surprise me. If you haven't installed you should install and then fix bcm43xxx - by following the advice in the wiki for the Linux driver. I think it generally works OK now
Husse
Level 21
Level 21

Postby jammadave on Wed Sep 12, 2007 4:24 pm

Husse -

I was about to post this same issue, with the same laptop model, as a new thread myself. Please help me and ti479, o great gurus of the cool refreshing OS! =0) PS, hi, I'm new here.

Here's the deal: I wanted to run Linux in a LiveCD so that I can decide whether or not to go for the install. I have both Ubuntu Feisty and now Mint Cassandra on boot CDs, and both give me the same error that ti479 stated. (Actually, I got Feisty in to dualboot against my Windows with WUBI, but the same error applies - and I'd rather have Mint i think anyway)