Mint 3.0 XCFE Live cd ask for user and password

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Mint 3.0 XCFE Live cd ask for user and password

Postby la_estrella on Sat Sep 15, 2007 11:17 pm

Downloaded Linux Mint 3.0 XFCE from linuxmint.com, burned to CD, boot was fine used first option .. Start linux...

until the logo screen is asking for a password?? is a live cd, there is no way to know a password no info any where,

tried > user root pass root
tried > user mint pass none
tried > user none pass none

about to trash the cd and test another distro.

PLease help.

(Last chance for mint)
la_estrella
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2007 11:09 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby merlwiz79 on Sat Sep 15, 2007 11:44 pm

1st it shouldn't stop at a login screen.
2nd there is no user name and password for the login.
You must have a bad ISO or a bad burn.
Check the md5 and burn at 2x.
User avatar
merlwiz79
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3637
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Here again :)

Postby honkytonkwillie on Sat Sep 22, 2007 2:31 am

This happened to me as well when I tried to install XFCE Community edition from safe graphics mode.
honkytonkwillie
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2007 2:28 am

Postby merlwiz79 on Sat Sep 22, 2007 2:49 am

honkytonkwillie wrote:This happened to me as well when I tried to install XFCE Community edition from safe graphics mode.
I know I tested Safe Graphics mode, but I decided to do it again.
I found the original disc I burned the final to and started in safe graphics mode.(didn't even blow off the dust)
Everything worked fine for me and I am using the LiveCD to post this comment.
User avatar
merlwiz79
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3637
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Here again :)

Postby Husse on Sun Sep 23, 2007 11:33 am

Welcome newcomers to MInt
It's a known error, I think especially for XFCE.
Bad CD gives this result. This has been asked may times
Check the md5sum
If you're in Windows you have to install a third party tool
It's the md5sum of the entire ISO that's to be checked
When OK burn at the slowest rate you are able to
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden


Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests