moving hard drive

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

moving hard drive

Postby carlos on Mon Sep 17, 2007 9:06 pm

I'm updating my laptop and will be switching my hard drive to the new machine. My question: is mint smart enough to figure out it's in a new machine? Ad will it install most drivers automatically? I figure I'll have to run envy to install the vid driver, but wasn't sure about the rest.
____________ ________ ______ ____ ___ __ __ _
http://www.designdrifter.com
The Purpose of Life is for DNA to reproduce.
User avatar
carlos
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 526
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: USA

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: moving hard drive

Postby JAK on Mon Sep 17, 2007 9:12 pm

carlos wrote:I'm updating my laptop and will be switching my hard drive to the new machine. My question: is mint smart enough to figure out it's in a new machine? Ad will it install most drivers automatically? I figure I'll have to run envy to install the vid driver, but wasn't sure about the rest.


Please let us know how it goes after you've done this. Thanks for being a guinea pig :D
.
User avatar
JAK
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 124
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2007 8:42 am
Location: Central Florida

Postby carlos on Tue Sep 18, 2007 12:08 am

Ha! I surely will. :lol:
____________ ________ ______ ____ ___ __ __ _
http://www.designdrifter.com
The Purpose of Life is for DNA to reproduce.
User avatar
carlos
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 526
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: USA

Re: moving hard drive

Postby scorp123 on Tue Sep 18, 2007 7:07 am

carlos wrote:I'm updating my laptop and will be switching my hard drive to the new machine. My question: is mint smart enough to figure out it's in a new machine?
Should work ... if the laptops are not too different then booting should work OK. Where it probably will fail (especially if the chipsets are different) is:

- X11
- Sound

You'd need to reconfigure those, but that shouldn't be too much of trouble.
User avatar
scorp123
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2287
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: Switzerland

Postby hugh on Tue Sep 18, 2007 7:24 am

Hi, I've done the same thing recently, moving a 60gb hard drive from a Toshiba Tecra to a Panasonic Toughbook.

All went very well, I just had to reconfigure X11 from the command line before I could get into Gnome.

Some of the distros on other partitions didn't fare so well though.

Cheers,

Hugh
A little knowledge is a dangerous thing . . .

WARNING this user only has a little knowledge :)
User avatar
hugh
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2007 4:39 pm
Location: Kent, UK

Postby carlos on Tue Sep 18, 2007 10:48 am

Thank you both for the info. I should be doing the switch in a day or 2 so I will let you know how it goes.

I must say if that is all that needs to be configured its a far cry from what happens when you switch a windows formtted HD. :wink:

Thanks Again!
____________ ________ ______ ____ ___ __ __ _
http://www.designdrifter.com
The Purpose of Life is for DNA to reproduce.
User avatar
carlos
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 526
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: USA

Postby KernelJ on Wed Sep 19, 2007 8:41 pm

I notice Windows is invariably fixed to whatever system it was installed on; if the configuration is different it'll throw up a BSOD. There isn't really any good reason why Linux or Windows shouldn't work in a slightly different configuration, except maybe a graphics card, is there?
KernelJ
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 2:33 am

Postby carlos on Wed Sep 19, 2007 10:31 pm

Well good news. The first transfer of the hard drive has gone very well. I originally had an older model Toshiba and basically got a newer one.

They were similarly specked, but some of the subsystems were a bit different. The only real adjustment needed was video resolution.

The next test will be when I transfer the drive to an IBM r40. Hopefully that will happen on the weekend. :D
____________ ________ ______ ____ ___ __ __ _
http://www.designdrifter.com
The Purpose of Life is for DNA to reproduce.
User avatar
carlos
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 526
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: USA

Postby Husse on Sun Sep 23, 2007 11:46 am

This is interesting - I'll eagerly await the "IBM report"
(mostly posted to get this into my posts so I find it again :))
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: moving hard drive

Postby k.newstead on Wed Mar 12, 2008 8:05 am

Hey have done something very similar from a toshiba sp6100 (don't buy - nothing but trouble) to my IBM X20 ultraportable. Have got it to boot into recovery mode but I don't know how to reconfigure the X11 file to get to GUI (xfce in my case)

If anyone more technically sophisticated could point me in the right direction I'd be really greatful :) Don't really have the option to reinstall as have no CDROM :|

cheers
k.newstead
 

Re: moving hard drive

Postby knewstead on Wed Mar 12, 2008 9:08 am

OK called in the cavalry when all I needed was google. my bad. If you're in a similar situation try this from FreeBSD, worked first time http://www.freebsd.org/doc/en_US.ISO8859-1/books/handbook/x-config.html

Mint now going like the stink on a PIII 600 with 192ram :D one less for landfill. Funnily enough boot was quicker (noticably) than on the tosh with 1.7 P4 and 512... not quite sure what to make of that!
knewstead
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2008 7:53 am

Re: moving hard drive

Postby HappyFace on Fri Mar 21, 2008 3:32 pm

I took the 40 GB harddisk out of my late IBM Thinkpad R40, and inserted it in my new Dell Latitude D610. It booted almost fine. I only had to edit the /etc/X11/xorg.conf file.

I had to replace ati width intel and PCI 1:0:0 with PCI 0:2:0. After that everything works just fine.
----
Think big - Shrink to fit!
User avatar
HappyFace
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2008 1:11 pm
Location: Vestfold, Norway

Re: moving hard drive

Postby Fred on Fri Mar 21, 2008 4:44 pm

Did you not correct the changed UUIDs, or were you not using UUID?

Fred

EDIT: Never mind.... dumb question. :-)
Insanity: Doing the same thing over and over and each time expecting a different result.

Democracy is 2 wolves and a lamb voting on the menu. Liberty is an armed lamb protesting the electoral outcome. A Republic negates the need for an armed protest.
User avatar
Fred
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3356
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 11:59 am
Location: NC USA

Re: moving hard drive

Postby HappyFace on Sat Mar 22, 2008 4:11 am

I didn't change anything. Just edited the xorg.conf-file.

There is no thing as a dumb question!
----
Think big - Shrink to fit!
User avatar
HappyFace
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2008 1:11 pm
Location: Vestfold, Norway

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests