Linux Mint 9 - Simply Reboots

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Linux Mint 9 - Simply Reboots

Postby bg1 on Fri Aug 20, 2010 12:59 pm

Hi all,

I am a new user to Linux Mint and Linux in general. I have dual installed Linux Mint 9 (Isadora) and Windows XP successfully. I am able to boot up normally and select Linux Mint 9. I login in normally and everything operates fine. After working for a bit my system "hangs up" and this black screen comes up. I cannot do anything at this point. It starts to "flash" white stripes on and off. I again cannot do anything and I am forced to reboot by manually pressing the reboot button. This happens all the time and I am not sure how to diagnose whats the cause. I would appreciate any help to try and fix the issue. I have googled extensively and cannot find anything. I am sorry for not giving more information, I dont know what is required.

Please assist in any way.

Thanks in advance.
bg1
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2010 12:52 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Linux Mint 9 - Simply Reboots

Postby oobetimer on Fri Aug 20, 2010 3:16 pm

Terminal command

Code: Select all

top



Some process freezes your PC . Firefox?, java?,X-server? apt-xapian-index?, ...?
User avatar
oobetimer
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1889
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2010 12:53 pm
Location: Finland / above the Arctic Circle

Re: Linux Mint 9 - Simply Reboots

Postby deadlytackler on Fri Aug 27, 2010 3:16 am

oobetimer wrote:Terminal command

Code: Select all

top



Some process freezes your PC . Firefox?, java?,X-server? apt-xapian-index?, ...?


Can you further elaborate, what this command will do. sorry if it sounds stupid just shifted to linux Mint. My desktop is entirely running on Linux (No other OS). But for the last 2 days facing same problem. Also at times mouse seems to be non existent. what we are supposed to do at that point.

Regards
Life is an art of drawing sufficient conclusions from insufficient premises
deadlytackler
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Aug 21, 2010 10:40 am

Re: Linux Mint 9 - Simply Reboots

Postby deadlytackler on Fri Aug 27, 2010 8:49 am

fine. top command list down all the process runing. and to kill it following command can be used:-
sudo killall <application-name>. For example, to kill firefox type in sudo killall firefox.

however still confused what to do when mouse becomes non existent...........
Life is an art of drawing sufficient conclusions from insufficient premises
deadlytackler
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Aug 21, 2010 10:40 am

Re: Linux Mint 9 - Simply Reboots

Postby rameshkarthik on Sun Nov 21, 2010 12:24 pm

Hi,

Like bg1, I too have a similar problem with Isadora. When I boot up my system, it boots up normally after working for some time, it hangs and freezes showing some black and white vertical stripes. I've tried rebooting the system using ALT+SysRq+REISUB for three times due to this problem.

I hope during the freeze that occurred for me, I was not able to access my mouse and keyboard (apart from hitting ALT+SysRq+REISUB ).

Faced the issue even while composing this post.

Application I'm working while facing the freeze: Firefox/Chromium with 5 Tabs, Rhythmbox, Nautilus. HW details will be in my signature.

Could you please help me in resolving this issue.
Regards,
K.Ramesh Karthik.

Processor: P4 2.4 ghz Motherboard: D845 Motherboard RAM: 1 GB
HDD: 40 GB HDD with 9 GB for Linux Mint OS: Dual boot (Win XP and Linux Mint 10 Julia Gnome edition)
User avatar
rameshkarthik
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 3:25 pm
Location: Chennai, India

Re: Linux Mint 9 - Simply Reboots

Postby motsteve on Sun Nov 21, 2010 2:34 pm

I had this happen to me on my netbook. I just briefly pushed my power button and the screen unlocked and I was back online. I chalked it up as an occasional power-saving bug. I would think that if you want to use the cli and issue a top command, you would have to ssh, ftp, or rlogin, to do that. Of course, if your install doesn't have the openssh package loaded, your hosed.

Good luck anyway.

Steve
motsteve
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2010 12:07 pm

Re: Linux Mint 9 - Simply Reboots

Postby rameshkarthik on Mon Nov 22, 2010 11:08 pm

motsteve wrote:I had this happen to me on my netbook. I just briefly pushed my power button and the screen unlocked and I was back online. I chalked it up as an occasional power-saving bug. I would think that if you want to use the cli and issue a top command, you would have to ssh, ftp, or rlogin, to do that. Of course, if your install doesn't have the openssh package loaded, your hosed.

Good luck anyway.

Steve


@Steve, Since myself being new to linux, could you please let me know how install cli and openssh package
Regards,
K.Ramesh Karthik.

Processor: P4 2.4 ghz Motherboard: D845 Motherboard RAM: 1 GB
HDD: 40 GB HDD with 9 GB for Linux Mint OS: Dual boot (Win XP and Linux Mint 10 Julia Gnome edition)
User avatar
rameshkarthik
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 3:25 pm
Location: Chennai, India

Re: Linux Mint 9 - Simply Reboots

Postby rameshkarthik on Wed Nov 24, 2010 4:42 pm

Hi,

Isadora still has the freezing problem even after I tried with the solution provided in the post: viewtopic.php?f=18&t=37971&start=80

Unfortunately there were certain errors during that process where a resolution was provided for the helena users. Hence I was not able to complete the entire process outlined in that post.

Although today I wasn't facing this issue, I'm living in fear of when this freeze will hit back.

Please help me resolve this issue.
Regards,
K.Ramesh Karthik.

Processor: P4 2.4 ghz Motherboard: D845 Motherboard RAM: 1 GB
HDD: 40 GB HDD with 9 GB for Linux Mint OS: Dual boot (Win XP and Linux Mint 10 Julia Gnome edition)
User avatar
rameshkarthik
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 3:25 pm
Location: Chennai, India

Re: Linux Mint 9 - Simply Reboots

Postby rameshkarthik on Sat Dec 04, 2010 8:19 am

Hello everyone,

I'm facing the hang/freeze very frequently these times. Is there any solution to this problem?

Please help me.
Regards,
K.Ramesh Karthik.

Processor: P4 2.4 ghz Motherboard: D845 Motherboard RAM: 1 GB
HDD: 40 GB HDD with 9 GB for Linux Mint OS: Dual boot (Win XP and Linux Mint 10 Julia Gnome edition)
User avatar
rameshkarthik
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 3:25 pm
Location: Chennai, India

Re: Linux Mint 9 - Simply Reboots

Postby oobetimer on Sat Dec 04, 2010 9:45 am

rameshkarthik wrote:Hello everyone,

I'm facing the hang/freeze very frequently these times. Is there any solution to this problem?

Please help me.


I am not sure if this works on you, but when I had a freezing-problem in Edubuntu, I made a /etc/X11/xorg.conf file like this

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "monitor1"
VendorName "Plug'n Play"
ModelName ""
HorizSync 30-61
VertRefresh 50-120

# TV fullscreen mode or DVD fullscreen output.
# 768x576 @ 79 Hz, 50 kHz hsync
ModeLine "768x576" 50.00 768 832 846 1000 576 590 595 630

# 768x576 @ 100 Hz, 61.6 kHz hsync
ModeLine "768x576" 63.07 768 800 960 1024 576 578 590 616
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "device1"
Driver "vesa"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "screen1"
Device "device1"
Monitor "monitor1"
DefaultColorDepth 24

Subsection "Display"
Depth 8
Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480" "480x360" "320x240"
EndSubsection

Subsection "Display"
Depth 15
Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480" "480x360" "320x240"
EndSubsection

Subsection "Display"
Depth 16
Modes "800x600" "640x480" "480x360" "320x240"
EndSubsection

Subsection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480" "480x360" "320x240"
EndSubsection
EndSection

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "layout1"
Screen "screen1"
EndSection
User avatar
oobetimer
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1889
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2010 12:53 pm
Location: Finland / above the Arctic Circle

Re: Linux Mint 9 - Simply Reboots

Postby rameshkarthik on Sun Dec 05, 2010 7:43 am

@oobetimer
Thanks for the reply.
I don't have the xorg.conf file that you have provided. I have searched the entire system to find only xorg.conf.failsafe file in the path: /etc/X11/
Should I change this file or create a new xorg.conf file in this folder.
Regards,
K.Ramesh Karthik.

Processor: P4 2.4 ghz Motherboard: D845 Motherboard RAM: 1 GB
HDD: 40 GB HDD with 9 GB for Linux Mint OS: Dual boot (Win XP and Linux Mint 10 Julia Gnome edition)
User avatar
rameshkarthik
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 3:25 pm
Location: Chennai, India

Re: Linux Mint 9 - Simply Reboots

Postby oobetimer on Sun Dec 05, 2010 9:09 am

rameshkarthik wrote:@oobetimer
Thanks for the reply.
I don't have the xorg.conf file that you have provided. I have searched the entire system to find only xorg.conf.failsafe file in the path: /etc/X11/
Should I change this file or create a new xorg.conf file in this folder.


Just open a terminal and copy the text on it. If xorg.conf file does not work, delate it (

cd /etc/X11

sudo rm xorg.conf

...or without sudo in recovery mode


To make an /etc/X11/xorg file:

gksudo gedit /etc/X11/xorg.conf

...edit, save and quit


viewtopic.php?f=42&t=44871&p=305445&hilit=xorg.conf#p305445
User avatar
oobetimer
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1889
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2010 12:53 pm
Location: Finland / above the Arctic Circle

Re: Linux Mint 9 - Simply Reboots

Postby rameshkarthik on Sun Dec 12, 2010 11:27 pm

@oobetimer
Thanks for the reply.

As per your instruction, I just created xorg.conf file in /etc/X11 from a terminal. Then Copied and and pasted the following code:

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "monitor1"
VendorName "Plug'n Play"
ModelName ""
HorizSync 30-61
VertRefresh 50-120

# TV fullscreen mode or DVD fullscreen output.
# 768x576 @ 79 Hz, 50 kHz hsync
ModeLine "768x576" 50.00 768 832 846 1000 576 590 595 630

# 768x576 @ 100 Hz, 61.6 kHz hsync
ModeLine "768x576" 63.07 768 800 960 1024 576 578 590 616
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "device1"
Driver "vesa"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "screen1"
Device "device1"
Monitor "monitor1"
DefaultColorDepth 24

Subsection "Display"
Depth 8
Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480" "480x360" "320x240"
EndSubsection

Subsection "Display"
Depth 15
Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480" "480x360" "320x240"
EndSubsection

Subsection "Display"
Depth 16
Modes "800x600" "640x480" "480x360" "320x240"
EndSubsection

Subsection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480" "480x360" "320x240"
EndSubsection
EndSection

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "layout1"
Screen "screen1"
EndSection


Then restarted the system.
But the problem here is that I'm not able to log into the system. and it showed me various type of error like system should run in low graphis mode. Whatever I tried to resolve were all in vain. Hence I was forced to install Isadora again.

Even while Installing Isadora I faced this issue. It is very frustating to cope up with this kind of issue.

Could you please help me?
Regards,
K.Ramesh Karthik.

Processor: P4 2.4 ghz Motherboard: D845 Motherboard RAM: 1 GB
HDD: 40 GB HDD with 9 GB for Linux Mint OS: Dual boot (Win XP and Linux Mint 10 Julia Gnome edition)
User avatar
rameshkarthik
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 3:25 pm
Location: Chennai, India

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: srs5694 and 25 guests