Celena Corrupt downloads?

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

Celena Corrupt downloads?

Postby donlinux on Wed Sep 26, 2007 6:04 am

I've downloaded Celena from two different mirrors, burned it using Nero on my windoze box which has worked for all other live cd's. This time I got the same error message on boot for both which was "disk image checksum error-sorry"

the two mirrors I used were 42-labs.de and softpedia.com

Anyone else experience this problem? or.. have a fix?

Many thanks,
donlinux
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 99
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2007 4:17 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby Husse on Wed Sep 26, 2007 7:03 am

Have you checked the md5sum?
You need to get a third party software for that in Windows and the md5sum is found on the download page.
Such an error on boot is new to me...
and I don't really know what application has calculated the checksum - but it is not the md5sum ...
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby manishk on Wed Sep 26, 2007 7:11 am

You can also try burning it at lower speeds...lowest possible.
"...Many people can only keep on fighting when they expect to win. I'm not like that, I always expect to lose. I fight anyway, and sometimes I win."

-Stallman
User avatar
manishk
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 191
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: India

got it from the torrent

Postby donlinux on Wed Sep 26, 2007 4:02 pm

I have to say I was a bit confused looking for the md5 sum in windoze as I couldn't find it. And... I've never seen that checksum error message before either, however, today before I left for work I downloaded from the torrents and burned it at 4X (slowest speed) and here I am running the Celena live cd to reply to this post.

So far it looks great !

Thanks
donlinux
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 99
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2007 4:17 pm

Postby Husse on Thu Sep 27, 2007 12:19 pm

To check the md5sum in Windows you must install some program
The checksum error you got has nothing to do with md5
The only thing I can think of is that BIOS checks the media at boot and the boot sector of that CD was corrupt
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden


Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests