Linux Mint Debian

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Linux Mint Debian

Postby nixie21 on Thu Oct 14, 2010 10:50 pm

I want to try this...I backed up my /home and my software installed using the mint backup tool. I burned a linux mint debian live cd. Its starts to boot and then the screen goes off (power light goes from green to orange). Does it have an issue with my video card? If I do get it up, can I restore my software and home directory like a normal version of mint? I really want to try the debian mint so please help!

Thanks
nixie21
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 1:36 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Linux Mint Debian

Postby oobetimer on Thu Oct 14, 2010 11:22 pm

nixie21 wrote:I want to try this...I backed up my /home and my software installed using the mint backup tool. I burned a linux mint debian live cd. Its starts to boot and then the screen goes off (power light goes from green to orange). Does it have an issue with my video card? If I do get it up, can I restore my software and home directory like a normal version of mint? I really want to try the debian mint so please help!

Thanks


If you use a Desktop PC, disconnect the monitor cable during the time when a liveCD is loading itself to ram memory. When loading has stopped, connect the cable. The idea is that when a liveCD does not recognize a monitor, it uses minimal graphic settings.
User avatar
oobetimer
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1889
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2010 12:53 pm
Location: Finland / above the Arctic Circle

Re: Linux Mint Debian

Postby nixie21 on Fri Oct 15, 2010 8:28 am

Thanks, so I unplugged waited and plugged back in...saw this:

BOOT FAILED

Then it said a few things then:

Can not mount /dev/loop0 (/live/image//casper/filesystem.squashfs) on //filesystem.squashfs

Busybox v1.15.3 (Debian 1:1.15.3-D built-in sheell (Ash)
Enter 'help' for a list of built in commands

/bin/sh: can't access tty; Job Control turned off


Any ideas? I downloaded tfrom the torrent link on the mint download page.

Thanks so much!
nixie21
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 1:36 pm

Re: Linux Mint Debian

Postby oobetimer on Fri Oct 15, 2010 11:12 am

nixie21 wrote:Thanks, so I unplugged waited and plugged back in...saw this:

BOOT FAILED

Then it said a few things then:

Can not mount /dev/loop0 (/live/image//casper/filesystem.squashfs) on //filesystem.squashfs

Busybox v1.15.3 (Debian 1:1.15.3-D built-in sheell (Ash)
Enter 'help' for a list of built in commands

/bin/sh: can't access tty; Job Control turned off


Any ideas? I downloaded tfrom the torrent link on the mint download page.

Thanks so much!


Burn using K3b or XfBurn Brasero makes those busybox-CDs
User avatar
oobetimer
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1889
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2010 12:53 pm
Location: Finland / above the Arctic Circle

Re: Linux Mint Debian

Postby nixie21 on Fri Oct 15, 2010 11:32 am

I did burn with K3B, chose burn image, chose the iso and burned to dvd. Is there some setting I need to look at?

I am excited to try this as I am such a Geek (an old one at that!!!) Was reading and do not know how to set up partitions during install, but that can wait intil I get it to boot!!!

Thanks so much for trying to help!!!
nixie21
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 1:36 pm

Re: Linux Mint Debian

Postby tdockery97 on Fri Oct 15, 2010 12:54 pm

When you burn an iso with K3b change the speed setting from "auto" to 4x.
Image

HP Pavilion 17 Notebook, 8GB DDR3, 2.5GHZ A10-APU, Radeon HD 8650G
User avatar
tdockery97
Level 13
Level 13
 
Posts: 4893
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 8:54 am
Location: Salem, Oregon

Re: Linux Mint Debian

Postby nixie21 on Fri Oct 15, 2010 1:09 pm

tdockery97 wrote:When you burn an iso with K3b change the speed setting from "auto" to 4x.


ok, will try tonight and post back...THANKS

If it works,

I am using the entire HD for the install, erase mint 9...

What size to I set the partitions to? (and what partitions do I need?)

One last question..

Since it is a different mint, can I resotre my whole /home directory? Can I use the backup tool to get back my installed software that I have backed up?

Thanks so much!!!
nixie21
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 1:36 pm

Re: Linux Mint Debian

Postby 1002richards on Sat Oct 16, 2010 12:35 am

Hi,
Useful partition guide with screenshots here:

http://www.linuxbsdos.com/2010/09/18/di ... nt-debian/
1002richards
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 8:20 am

Re: Linux Mint Debian

Postby 1002richards on Sat Oct 16, 2010 12:35 am

Should add, not tried that one myself, but very pleased with the one for Mint 9 / Ubuntu 10.04.
Last edited by 1002richards on Sat Oct 16, 2010 12:37 am, edited 1 time in total.
1002richards
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 8:20 am

Re: Linux Mint Debian

Postby cwsnyder on Wed Oct 20, 2010 7:24 am

I would like to add, I submitted a bug[Bug 658680] because when I set up a separate /home partition ( /, /home, and swap), I lost my /home partition on a quad-boot system when I performed the standard updates to my system after installing LMDE.
LMDE Mate 64-bit, LM16 Mate 64-bit
Debian Xfce 64-bit, Xubuntu 13.10 64-bit, Xubuntu Trusty Tahr 64-bit, Antergos Xfce 64-bit, PCLinuxOS LXDE 64-bit
cwsnyder
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1039
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2010 6:49 am
Location: Nappanee, IN, USA

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: mintybits and 14 guests