Boot problem with dual system [SOLVED]

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Re: Boot problem with dual system

Postby riki on Fri Dec 03, 2010 3:32 am

Aging Technogeek wrote:EDIT
I see you figured out part of the solution on your own. Good going! You can skip the first paragraph and go directly to reinstalling Grub.

The reason you can't claim the 110 GB freed up by deleting sda2 is that you are working from the LMDE partition. That means this partition is mounted and Gparted will not work on a mounted partition. Sorry, I forgot that when I was writing the procedure for you. To claim that 110 GB, you must boot from the install CD and run Gparted from the live desktop. That will let you unmount sda1 and resize it.

You installed Mint 10 after LMDE so Mint 10 rewrote Grub to look to Mint 10 on sda6 for boot instructions. You will have to reinstall grub using the live CD.

To reinstall grub, try the procedure here

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Grub2?action=show&redirect=GRUB2#Reinstalling%20from%20LiveCD

You already know the partition you are using, sda1, so you do not need to do the first step of running fdisk -l to find it.

The next step is to enter in terminal "sudo mount /dev/sda1 /mnt" (without the quotes)

Next run "sudo grub-install -- root-directory=/mnt/ /dev/sda" (no quotes)

Remember you are running from the live CD so there will be no request for a password.

Once the last command has run and the terminal has returned to the prompt, Close the terminal and shutdown the live CD session.

After removing the CD and letting the computer turn off, reboot. If everything worked, you should boot into LMDE. Once there, open a terminal and enter "sudo update-grub" just to make sure grub is properly set.


Followed your instructions with Julia live CD and when rebooting I get the same grub rescue error.
Riki

Image
User avatar
riki
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 370
Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2010 4:57 pm
Location: UK

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Boot problem with dual system

Postby riki on Fri Dec 03, 2010 4:14 am

There was an error in your second command (space after --). On reboot at first everything seems to work but when press ENTER nothing happens, screen frozen, have to turn off machine manually. The highlighted entry reads: Linux Mint 9, 2.6.32-26-generic (/dev/sda1) and the top line entry: GNU GRUB version 1.98+20100804-5ubuntu3-1mint1. :?
Riki

Image
User avatar
riki
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 370
Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2010 4:57 pm
Location: UK

Re: Boot problem with dual system

Postby riki on Fri Dec 03, 2010 4:52 am

I can only see two ways out of this one:

1. Fresh LMDE reinstall on entire disk.

2. Reinstall JULIA alongside LMDE so that I can have access to LMDE.

Please advise if there is a third option to boot LMDE as it stands now, i.e. frozen boot screen. Thanks.
Riki

Image
User avatar
riki
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 370
Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2010 4:57 pm
Location: UK

Re: Boot problem with dual system

Postby lauren on Fri Dec 03, 2010 5:29 am

Hi riki!
Last night, meditating on the two important, unsolved problems in this forum, I found the cause of both related problems: in your case the erasure of a relevant file of Julia (in the other case, the damage).
You first installed LMDE with boot loader into MBR (system files on LMDE partition), then you installed Julia, choosing as boot loader device MBR (or you did not change the boot loader device and MBR was automatically the target). As you deleted the Julia partition, the boot/grub/grub.cfg was deleted; after rebooting GRUB2 was searching grub.cfg and could not find it, so no operating system could start (in the grub.cfg were saved the details of LMDE to start).
So what to do?
1. Reinstall Julia and GRUB2
2. Fresh installation of LMDE
3. Try to fix Grub
I prefer 3.
But we must know some details:
a) LMDE has Grub1 (exactly Grub 0.97 or Grub legacy I suppose);
I will open a thread in the forum.
lauren
lauren
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 589
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2009 10:50 am

Re: Boot problem with dual system

Postby riki on Fri Dec 03, 2010 5:37 am

This is really getting too complex for me to understand. I have found a way to boot LMDE! By keeping key "e" pressed before pushing the start button it boots LMDE. But back to square one if I reboot: screen freezes and ENTER doesn't work. So at this stage I am lost...
Riki

Image
User avatar
riki
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 370
Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2010 4:57 pm
Location: UK

Re: Boot problem with dual system

Postby lauren on Fri Dec 03, 2010 5:42 am

Hi riki!
Please wait, I hope that I soon can specify suggestion 3.
lauren
lauren
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 589
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2009 10:50 am

Re: Boot problem with dual system

Postby riki on Fri Dec 03, 2010 6:14 am

Refreshing gives this:

riki@riki-desktop ~ $ sudo update-grub
[sudo] password for riki:
Generating grub.cfg ...
Found Debian background: linuxmint.png
Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.32-26-generic
Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.img-2.6.32-26-generic
Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.32-25-generic
Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.img-2.6.32-25-generic
Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.32-21-generic
Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.img-2.6.32-21-generic
Found memtest86+ image: /boot/memtest86+.bin
done
Riki

Image
User avatar
riki
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 370
Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2010 4:57 pm
Location: UK

Re: Boot problem with dual system

Postby riki on Fri Dec 03, 2010 6:19 am

This is the version:

riki@riki-desktop ~ $ grub-install -v
grub-install (GNU GRUB 1.98-1ubuntu5-1mint2)
Riki

Image
User avatar
riki
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 370
Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2010 4:57 pm
Location: UK

Re: Boot problem with dual system

Postby lauren on Fri Dec 03, 2010 6:22 am

Hi riki!
The answer in the forum is: LMDE comes with GRUB2.
At the moment I'm writing a suggestion how to restore your LMDE - booting from your live medium you used to install LMDE.
lauren
lauren
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 589
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2009 10:50 am

Re: Boot problem with dual system

Postby riki on Fri Dec 03, 2010 6:24 am

lauren wrote:Hi riki!
The answer in the forum is: LMDE comes with GRUB2.
At the moment I'm writing a suggestion how to restore your LMDE - booting from your live medium you used to install LMDE.
lauren


I only have JULIA live CD. I no longer possess the original LMDE CD. Shall I burn a new one?
Riki

Image
User avatar
riki
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 370
Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2010 4:57 pm
Location: UK

Re: Boot problem with dual system

Postby lauren on Fri Dec 03, 2010 6:41 am

Hi riki!
You need the same medium you used to install LMDE; if you had burned a CD and don't have it, you must burn a new one.
The suggestion after having checked the download with md5sum and burning an image of LMDE:
1. Boot to the Live Desktop LMDE
2. Open a terminal and type:
Code: Select all
sudo mkdir /mnt/sda1
then:
Code: Select all
sudo mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/sda1
afterwards:
Code: Select all
sudo grub-install --root-directory=/mnt/ /dev/sda

3. Reboot, in the Grub menu choose your Mint Debian
4. Open a terminal and run:
Code: Select all
sudo update-grub

lauren
lauren
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 589
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2009 10:50 am

Re: Boot problem with dual system

Postby riki on Fri Dec 03, 2010 6:46 am

OK Lauren. I am in the process of downloading a new LMDE ISO and will let you know how I get on with your instructions as soon as I burn the DVD. Much appreciate your help.
Riki

Image
User avatar
riki
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 370
Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2010 4:57 pm
Location: UK

Re: Boot problem with dual system

Postby lauren on Fri Dec 03, 2010 6:52 am

Hi riki!
You installed LMDE from a DVD or CD? To avoid problems, it should be the same medium you burn now!
lauren
lauren
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 589
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2009 10:50 am

Re: Boot problem with dual system

Postby riki on Fri Dec 03, 2010 6:55 am

lauren wrote:Hi riki!
You installed LMDE from a DVD or CD? To avoid problems, it should be the same medium you burn now!
lauren


My original LMDE install was with a CD. Now, I am downloading with a DVD because the ISO is over 700MB. Does it make any difference?
Riki

Image
User avatar
riki
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 370
Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2010 4:57 pm
Location: UK

Re: Boot problem with dual system

Postby lauren on Fri Dec 03, 2010 6:59 am

Hi!
Sorry, I don't know! I hope, it's no problem.
I restored GRUB2 several times, but always had the medium from which I had installed Linux.
lauren
lauren
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 589
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2009 10:50 am

Re: Boot problem with dual system

Postby riki on Fri Dec 03, 2010 7:22 am

Lauren,

Well, I don't know how it has worked but I was able to reboot to LMDE after following your instructions, however, on the third entry of your instructions I got: "cannot find a device for /mnt/boot/grub (is /dev mounted?)" Perhaps you can explain.
Riki

Image
User avatar
riki
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 370
Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2010 4:57 pm
Location: UK

Re: Boot problem with dual system

Postby lauren on Fri Dec 03, 2010 7:41 am

Hi riki!
1. You could not reboot without live medium and see the Grub menu?
2. If yes, after running
Code: Select all
sudo mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/sda1

type
Code: Select all
sudo mount
to see which partitions are mounted.
lauren
lauren
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 589
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2009 10:50 am

Re: Boot problem with dual system

Postby riki on Fri Dec 03, 2010 7:45 am

lauren wrote:Hi riki!
1. You could not reboot without live medium and see the Grub menu? Yes I did reboot normally without the live DVD.
2. If yes, after running
Code: Select all
sudo mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/sda1

type
Code: Select all
sudo mount
to see which partitions are mounted.
lauren
Riki

Image
User avatar
riki
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 370
Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2010 4:57 pm
Location: UK

Re: Boot problem with dual system [SOLVED]

Postby riki on Fri Dec 03, 2010 7:47 am

riki@riki-desktop ~ $ sudo mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/sda1
[sudo] password for riki:
mount: mount point /mnt/sda1 does not exist
riki@riki-desktop ~ $ sudo mount
/dev/sda1 on / type ext4 (rw,errors=remount-ro)
proc on /proc type proc (rw,noexec,nosuid,nodev)
none on /sys type sysfs (rw,noexec,nosuid,nodev)
none on /sys/fs/fuse/connections type fusectl (rw)
none on /sys/kernel/debug type debugfs (rw)
none on /sys/kernel/security type securityfs (rw)
none on /dev type devtmpfs (rw,mode=0755)
none on /dev/pts type devpts (rw,noexec,nosuid,gid=5,mode=0620)
none on /dev/shm type tmpfs (rw,nosuid,nodev)
none on /var/run type tmpfs (rw,nosuid,mode=0755)
none on /var/lock type tmpfs (rw,noexec,nosuid,nodev)
none on /lib/init/rw type tmpfs (rw,nosuid,mode=0755)
binfmt_misc on /proc/sys/fs/binfmt_misc type binfmt_misc (rw,noexec,nosuid,nodev)
gvfs-fuse-daemon on /home/riki/.gvfs type fuse.gvfs-fuse-daemon (rw,nosuid,nodev,user=riki)

Hope you can decipher the above!
Riki

Image
User avatar
riki
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 370
Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2010 4:57 pm
Location: UK

Re: Boot problem with dual system [SOLVED]

Postby riki on Fri Dec 03, 2010 7:57 am

This is how my HD looks now:

Image
Riki

Image
User avatar
riki
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 370
Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2010 4:57 pm
Location: UK

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
PreviousNext

Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], vedanth_salian and 20 guests