Celena Freezes at 15% Everytime When trying to install

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Celena Freezes at 15% Everytime When trying to install

Postby Stupidkid on Sat Nov 03, 2007 6:55 pm

Third time. and i have it just sitting on that screen. Mouse. Screen everythings frozen. Kind of a bummer. any ideas?
Stupidkid
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 3:11 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby 900i on Sat Nov 03, 2007 7:08 pm

How much ram you got?
Intel i7 3770 LMDE Mate 64
User avatar
900i
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1014
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 9:30 am
Location: Wakefield, UK

Postby Stupidkid on Sat Nov 03, 2007 7:10 pm

256mb
I was told it should run fine
Stupidkid
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 3:11 am

Postby newW2 on Sat Nov 03, 2007 7:15 pm

Celena did not have an XFCE desktop environment (DE), and XFCE is the only DE that may work with that small amount of RAM. :(
User avatar
newW2
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1081
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2007 10:24 am
Location: USA

Postby Stupidkid on Sat Nov 03, 2007 7:17 pm

I was expecting that, From when they use to have the Requirements up, i remember wanting it, but not being able to.


What would you suggest other than Mint? Fedora? Ubuntu?
Stupidkid
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 3:11 am

Postby 900i on Sat Nov 03, 2007 7:47 pm

I think you might struggle with a live-cd install with that amount of ram, but I could be wrong. You need to go for something that gives you a straight install, but I don't know which Distro's do that nowadays, except Slackware.
Intel i7 3770 LMDE Mate 64
User avatar
900i
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1014
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 9:30 am
Location: Wakefield, UK

Postby merlwiz79 on Sat Nov 03, 2007 8:30 pm

900i wrote:I think you might struggle with a live-cd install with that amount of ram, but I could be wrong. You need to go for something that gives you a straight install, but I don't know which Distro's do that nowadays, except Slackware.
I have had people tell me the installed Cassandra XFCE with 128 MBs of RAM.
You just have to make a swap partition before using the Live CD.
User avatar
merlwiz79
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3637
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Here again :)

Postby Stupidkid on Sat Nov 03, 2007 8:41 pm

I've already completely Removed Windows and formated my drive.

So cassandra?
Stupidkid
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 3:11 am

Postby deadguy on Sat Nov 03, 2007 10:06 pm

I had the same problem with celena with 256MB of ram
if you can up it to 384MB or more it should install fine.
User avatar
deadguy
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 710
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2007 9:41 pm
Location: Illinois USA

Postby Lolo Uila on Sun Nov 04, 2007 8:04 am

Cassandra XFCE Community Edition.

...or more RAM. ;)

Aloha, Tim
User avatar
Lolo Uila
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 547
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 3:40 am
Location: Kapolei, Hawaii

Postby kotik on Wed Nov 14, 2007 4:26 am

Hi all - my first post here ;]

Donn't want to create new topic - i post here.

So, unfortunately my friendship with Linux started with problems ;]

I decided to try mint - the live CD worked perfect, and now I'm in love with mint :P
After few hours of tests i wanted to install it. I passed 6 of 7 steps and it hung (after user import from XP - which I did not).

I can abort install, can move the mouse pointer, pointer itself works (i mean that dots in circle) - but nothing else.
HDD doesn't work, cd stops... and nothing happens :(

Please help me to solve this, or let me know where to look for solution.

My config:
XP Pro (on first partition - wanna get rid of it asap)
P 1,4GHz
384 MB RAM
GF 440MX (64MB)
kotik
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 4:12 am

Postby Lolo Uila on Wed Nov 14, 2007 5:35 am

You didn't mention which version of Mint you were trying to install, but with that amount of RAM I would recommend Cassandra XFCE Community Edition. It isn't as resource heavy as the GNOME or KDE versions. Should run nicely on your system.

Aloha, Tim
User avatar
Lolo Uila
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 547
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 3:40 am
Location: Kapolei, Hawaii

Postby kotik on Wed Nov 14, 2007 5:47 am

thx Lolo - didn't mention cause it's also Celene mint 3.1
Hoped it will work on my PC.

But frankly it's strange cause LiveCD version worked perfect even better than XP :twisted:

Maybe problem is in the Migration Assistant? System hangs after it.
Also strange is that i can abort the install and work on LiveCD after it without any problems.

Well I'll try ver. you mentioned.
kotik
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 4:12 am

Postby kotik on Wed Nov 14, 2007 3:05 pm

I've just tried Casandra.

And I have the same problem! It hung in step 6 - after creating account and password.

Damn.

Completely dunno what to do :/
kotik
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 4:12 am

Postby kotik on Thu Nov 15, 2007 3:55 am

Ok guys ;]

Thats odd but I'm total newbie in linux so perhaps it was obvious.

I just did every thing the same but did not use spaces in account name :)

Dunno why, but worked and I'm now using (better to say learning) Celena.
kotik
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 4:12 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: expat_tony, Yatoom and 9 guests