Linux Mint Install wierd Problem

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

Linux Mint Install wierd Problem

Postby meyer0409 on Mon Nov 12, 2007 12:21 pm

System Specs: Averatec 3700 Laptop
AMD Sempron Mobile 3800
1 Gig RAM
80G HD nothing installed clean system
VIA s3g UniChrome Pro Video


When I boot the live CD it takes almost an hour to boot up. I have tried the live CD troubleshooting and all i get is a kernal panic VFS unbootable with all the options. I was wondering If anyone could help me with this. Im not a newbie I actually use ubuntu on a daily basis on my other laptop but I wanted to try Mint.
Last edited by meyer0409 on Mon Nov 12, 2007 3:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Michael Eyer
Network Admin
Everyday Ubuntu User
My Website
meyer0409
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 11:59 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby GrayWizardLinux on Mon Nov 12, 2007 1:01 pm

sorry to hear about this. I am newer than you - but what I can say is that Ubuntu I liked but way too many issues and non-functional. Mint - it all works! Hang in there and Husse or Scorp or merlwiz or Clem himself will help- Mint is worth it.

Welcome!!!
User avatar
GrayWizardLinux
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1240
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 5:47 pm
Location: Anywhere I Am!

Postby meyer0409 on Mon Nov 12, 2007 1:48 pm

It works on my desktop great. I even have tried installing ubuntu on this laptop and it doesn't work either. I would love to get it working. I will try just about anything at this point.
meyer0409
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 11:59 am

Postby GrayWizardLinux on Mon Nov 12, 2007 2:19 pm

I understand - Husse is THE guy for help - but he is swamped trying to help people here.

Hang in there!

maybe stating what system and make and sys infoi would help him when he gets to this post.

cards, etc will help.
User avatar
GrayWizardLinux
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1240
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 5:47 pm
Location: Anywhere I Am!

System Specs

Postby meyer0409 on Mon Nov 12, 2007 2:31 pm

System Specs are in first post. Tried disabling bios power management and ACPI options. No good.
Michael Eyer
Network Admin
Everyday Ubuntu User
My Website
meyer0409
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 11:59 am

Postby GrayWizardLinux on Mon Nov 12, 2007 2:54 pm

sorry I did not look back at the initial post - add the crad info etc. if you didn't



I am out working in my shed on a woodworking project and have my laptop in it so I check in from time to time.
User avatar
GrayWizardLinux
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1240
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 5:47 pm
Location: Anywhere I Am!

Postby meyer0409 on Mon Nov 12, 2007 3:02 pm

No problem, crad can you explain. I added video card specs I will add what you want but i need an explanation
Michael Eyer
Network Admin
Everyday Ubuntu User
My Website
meyer0409
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 11:59 am

Postby GrayWizardLinux on Mon Nov 12, 2007 7:10 pm

sorry michael - typing dyslexia - I meant card as in video/graphics card info.

I am so sorry!
User avatar
GrayWizardLinux
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1240
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 5:47 pm
Location: Anywhere I Am!

Postby nick on Tue Nov 13, 2007 7:44 am

nick
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 686
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 8:04 am

Postby GrayWizardLinux on Tue Nov 13, 2007 8:24 pm

Michael - sorry Husse has not gotten to you yet - things seem slow lately. I have not seen scorp around here either lately - do not give up and hang in there. wish i could help - maybe this bump will help Husse find this thread.
User avatar
GrayWizardLinux
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1240
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 5:47 pm
Location: Anywhere I Am!

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: nerdtron and 10 guests