Linux Mint 4.0 Daryna -Internet not working

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Linux Mint 4.0 Daryna -Internet not working

Postby fs1 on Fri Nov 16, 2007 11:24 am

Just installed Daryna using the iso I downloaded from this site. I've got XP on the same computer, and internet works there. In Mint I can't get on the internet. Ive got a router that's got three other windows computers connected to it, and they all have internet working also. In Mint I right clicked the network icon in the bottom right corner and got some information about ip numbers, dns etc, and they all seem good. It gets it ip through DHCP.

What can be wrong?
fs1
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 4:36 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby fs1 on Sat Nov 17, 2007 8:35 am

I can also see the computer name, ip and mac address in the client list in the router, when i connect to it from a windows machine. I can't connect to the router ip from the Mint though. Everything in Mint looks good to as far as I can tell. But no internet... I'm starting to give up.
fs1
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 4:36 pm

Postby Husse on Sat Nov 17, 2007 6:15 pm

It seems you have no name resolution.
This can be fixed by following the advice int this wiki
http://www.linuxmint.com/wiki/index.php ... e_programs
Oddly I have to follow the advice to get internet for apt, ubiqity and mintUpdate, but not for Firefox and Thunderbird
However this
I can't connect to the router ip from the Mint
which I "took in" first after writing the answer above tells another story
What happens if you ping the router - you can ping from network tools in the control center or from the terminal
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby fs1 on Sun Nov 18, 2007 9:32 am

Thanks for your reply!

When pinging the router in a terminal it says "The network is unreachable"

When pinging the router using network tools, nothing at all happens when I click the ping-button.

--
Rickard
fs1
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 4:36 pm

Postby BakUp on Sun Nov 18, 2007 10:50 am

I hope no one feels I am hijacking this theard, but what is pinging ?
User avatar
BakUp
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 200
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2007 9:20 am
Location: Minnesota USA

Postby Husse on Sun Nov 18, 2007 1:34 pm

First - have you looked at your avatar and considered what it looks like :lol: :lol:
Ping - to send a small special IP package and wait for an answer - if you get an answer you know that there is a connection
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby BakUp on Sun Nov 18, 2007 6:17 pm

Husse wrote:First - have you looked at your avatar and considered what it looks like

Now, wait a minute........tee hee ! Or is it a sideways #1 ?

Ping - to send a small special IP package and wait for an answer - if you get an answer you know that there is a connection

Thanks
User avatar
BakUp
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 200
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2007 9:20 am
Location: Minnesota USA

Postby Husse on Sun Nov 18, 2007 6:40 pm

@ BakUp
If you point it about 45 degrees up..... :lol: :lol:
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot], luayessa and 16 guests