startup at run level 3

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

startup at run level 3

Postby greghar on Sun Nov 18, 2007 6:50 pm

Using Daryna KDE
Since this is using upstart how to you set like inittab to go to run level 3 at startup. I want change this a few times when I am testing. Also I know about the security but I will be installing and testing alot and I want to run as root login. This is using KDE 4 I think and cannot find the place to set to allow root login access. Do you use sudo passwd root and set password and then allow root login in KDE so I can then login as root. If you where. Thanks for any help. Greghar
greghar
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 6:39 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby Husse on Mon Nov 19, 2007 6:46 am

I thought I answered you already - must have disappeared in Cyberspace :)
Yes you're right, only I think it's just sudo passwd but I've seen both methods mentioned. If you use passwd without sudo you set it for the current account
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: startup at run level 3

Postby greghar on Mon Nov 19, 2007 10:29 pm

Hi
Any ideas about setting run level for upstart so I could set it to level 3 for startup. Thanks Greg
greghar
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 6:39 pm

Re: startup at run level 3

Postby Husse on Tue Nov 20, 2007 9:39 am

I did not think much about runlevel at first
In a Debian/Ubuntu system runlevels 2 - 5 are the same - see
http://www.debianadmin.com/debian-and-u ... evels.html
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: startup at run level 3

Postby greghar on Tue Nov 20, 2007 3:25 pm

Run Level 3 is usually Text mode login. On most linux Dist. you use inittab to set this level if you want to boot to text login. Level 5 usually graphic mode. Mint\Ubuntu is using upstart now not inittab. Want to find out how to set run level there. Thanks Greghar
greghar
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 6:39 pm

Re: startup at run level 3

Postby Boo on Thu Nov 22, 2007 1:30 am

there are no run levels now only events. but legacy stuff is causing some confusion.
rc2-5 are really one event: system run (rc2 is the default the others are just copies).
but before that rcS is run which is a Startup event(s).

look in /etc/events.d/

check out: http://upstart.ubuntu.com/

:D
Image
Now where was i going? Oh yes, crazy!
User avatar
Boo
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2364
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:48 am


Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests