ATI laptop: Added "splash=0" on install...is that ok?

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

ATI laptop: Added "splash=0" on install...is that ok?

Postby enchance on Mon Nov 19, 2007 5:17 am

On install I pressed F6 to edit my installation and replaced "quiet splash" with "splash=0" and I was able to install Daryna without any probs on my ATI laptop.I wanna know..was that ok? :)
User avatar
enchance
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2007 3:36 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby Husse on Mon Nov 19, 2007 6:25 am

OK it was OK :)
You managed to install....
Not that I know what it does, but it does no harm.
It did not work with quiet splash?
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: ATI laptop: Added "splash=0" on install...is that ok?

Postby enchance on Tue Nov 20, 2007 12:15 pm

No, "quiet splash" didn't even get me as far as the installation GUI where you can select to install/safe graphics mode/1st hard disk--I'd get stuck in the usual white-text-black-background screeen. I had to experiment several times until finally getting it to run with "splash=0". It must have something to do with my ATI card.

It's a good thing it worked, too. A few more install failures and I would've opted to go back to gutsy.
User avatar
enchance
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2007 3:36 am


Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: kost, Vrong and 15 guests