External Hard Drive Boot

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
MoonRaider

External Hard Drive Boot

Post by MoonRaider »

I have come across a rather bothersome problem recently. I have been running mint since Isadora on my laptop, dual-booting with my XP. About a week ago I was forced to take Mint off, because of space restrictions on the XP. So I resulted to installing the newest KDE Julia on my external hard drive. It installed successfully, I only have one problem. Even after changing the boot order in BIOS; to boot from USB first, my laptop ignores the hard drive and boots straight into internal XP. I have no experience when it comes to boot order, is their any possible way to fix this?

I know I am lacking information, but would be extremely happy to provide any needed.

Thank you for your time.

Regards,
MoonRaider
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
wayne128

Re: External Hard Drive Boot

Post by wayne128 »

MoonRaider wrote:I have come across a rather bothersome problem recently. I have been running mint since Isadora on my laptop, dual-booting with my XP. About a week ago I was forced to take Mint off, because of space restrictions on the XP. So I resulted to installing the newest KDE Julia on my external hard drive. It installed successfully, I only have one problem. Even after changing the boot order in BIOS; to boot from USB first, my laptop ignores the hard drive and boots straight into internal XP. I have no experience when it comes to boot order, is their any possible way to fix this?

I know I am lacking information, but would be extremely happy to provide any needed.

Thank you for your time.

Regards,
MoonRaider